davidene’s update – january 14, 2014

It is the beginning of the new year, and I know that many of you have prayed me through. I love you for that! I want you to know that those prayers have reaped good benefits for me. Something happened that was quite amazing to me, and I want to tell you about it.

I was going along through a very busy and emotional December, doing well at keeping my focus on the reason for Christmas, and not experiencing too many emotional lows. I was all the way up to Saturday, Dec 28th, when I cratered. I not only cried all day, but was really dreading my coming birthday and the new year. I did not want either one of them to happen. On that day, I just could not see anything to look forward to. Why would I want a new life when I loved the way it had been? I didn’t want “new” anything. How could anything be as good as what it was before?

It was while I was in this mood that Susie called me and asked me to go to a movie. I was relieved to get out of the house and go do something fun with a friend, even though my eyes did look pretty puffy and scary.

Susie said she needed to run an errand to Janet’s house on the way. It was a surprise birthday party for me! Just girlfriends; Susie, Janet , Jane , Debbie , Debbie, Andrea, Joy , Annie , Terry , Kaye , Linda , and Pam . Together they represented so much of my life.

I met Joy when she was a little girl and I dated her big brother, Kent. I was about 13 when we met. She was and is a warrior in life, who loves God and people above all, and shows it every day.

Friendship with Kaye dates back to 1972 and Nichols Hills Baptist Church, where puppets and Children’s Church defined us. It was years of laughter, with a crazy wonderful friend. Linda was there with Bruce. What a great team we made. We even conned Kent into being “Frank Facts”, the TV News interviewer. It was a ball.
Debbie Priest was dating Monty in those years, singing in our church’s weekend teen venue, “The King’s Way Inn”.

When we moved to Cherokee Hills Baptist in 1981, friendship with Debbie , Janet , Jane , and Pam awaited me. What a treasure of girlfriends this group has been, through thick and thin! Andrea was a little girl when we arrived there. She wiggled into my heart early on, and is still there.

Annie became a soul-friend after Kent died, and wow, what a blessing. We meet weekly, and God just knew I needed her. She is more precious than gold, and her heart is “bigger than Idaho”!

Susie, and I became friends in Bible Study, and just kept studying the Bible together long after the official group study was over. What a wonderful friend she has been for over 30 years.

The overwhelming thought after that day was – WOW what a difference a little change of perspective makes! I have treasures untold to be thankful for. God has been there throughout my life, giving me unexpected relationships, experiences, and ministries all along the way. God reminded me through my girlfriends how faithful He has been. He will be for the future as well.

My spirits have not plummeted since my birthday party. I will journey on and find out what it is God has for me. My word for the year is EXPECTATION. I want to start each day with it, and carry it as well as I can throughout. I am expecting to improve. I am expecting to find the beginning of a new way, to find success in adjusting to it, to have confidence, passion, and energy again. I am expecting God to show me what to do next, and to try things that seem to be His direction, without fear.
My year phrase is, “Be patient, and be positive.” This patience will not be exhibited by inactivity. It will be expressed by giving myself permission to try, to fail without regret or concern, to accept success as God’s direction, and give Him honor for it.

I know there will still be more hard days and sadness in me, but I finally have a desire to go on to a new phase of life. Thank you for helping me get here. You are the most precious of friends.
Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

4 Responses to davidene’s update – january 14, 2014

  1. Barbara Hayes says:

    Wow! Amazing how our perspective can change in a moment; isn’t it? God has blessed you with so many lifelong friends, as well as so many new ones! Susie, you were so insightful and knew the “prescription” that Davidene needed. So wonderful! “Expectation” is a wonderful word for 2014. Thank you for sharing. Happy, happy birthday and best wishes for 2014, Davidene!

  2. Roslyn Robinson says:

    God is so so awesome! Happy Birthday day to you.

    Blessings

    Roslyn Robinson

  3. Herman Reece says:

    Again, I say thank you for sharing how God is guiding you, as “He is doing a new thing!” Isaiah 43:19 The Grief Counselor at Northwest Baptist has helped me to see that I have been in the grieving process for almost two years so I should not be surprized that God is doing a new thing in my life. My son reminded our family of Isaiah 43:19 several months ago. HAPPY BIRTHDAY and Welcome to the first day of the rest of your life, as you watch for God’s Silver Linning. Herman

  4. chaplin tim says:

    keep up the good work girlfriends

Leave a Reply

