Davidene’s Update

December 22, 2014

Today is our 48th wedding anniversary.

The entire past week has been misty weather, complete with grey skies and wind. COLD. I so needed to see some brightness. I woke up today to sunshine! As I write, the sky is returning to its dreariness, but I actually saw sunshine as my first look outside on this special day. I took it as an encouragement that God is aware of my tender feelings about this day, and knew I needed His light touch to start it off. Thank you, Lord.

The reverse was true on my actual wedding day. The previous week had been sunny, but a huge front had moved in, and December 22nd of 1966 was the biggest ice storm in history! I was totally oblivious. I slept in, took my time eating breakfast and then painting my fingernails, and rejoiced in the fact that by evening, I would be Mrs. Kent Jack Humphreys. I loved my new name. From that day on, I signed everything Mrs. Kent Humphreys, rather than Davidene Humphreys. I SO LOVED being Mrs. Kent Humphreys. There is such a lack of tender togetherness in being simply Davidene Humphreys.

There are so many things that I miss about being Mrs. Kent. I miss the sound of his voice and his ‘presence’ in the house. I miss his silliness. His “OK” sign. His calling me “Jose” and “Huns…Huns”. Sitting quietly together in the evenings, more often as he became sicker. (We often commented that these evenings were one of the ‘silver linings’ to his illness.)

But maybe the word ‘miss’ has to be joined with the word ‘remember’, because my missing is no longer a synonym for aching grief. Many times now, it is a happy remembrance, and a private revisiting of the joy of former times. I remember sitting quietly on the beach at Secret Harbor, a place which will remain a treasure of wonderful memories. His boyish excitement as he presented me with “trinkets” at Christmas. The bigger he could make the pile of gifts for me, the happier he was. His crazy spontaneous dancing… the “Happy Jig”. Getting so tickled and laughing so hard with our children that we would have tears running down our faces. (A huge memory was standing on a street in Hawaii, trying to buy snow cones from a kiosk in which we could see the operator, but he ignored the insane group at the front of his shop.) The list is endless.

I SO badly wanted to have 50 years with him. I don’t know why that number was important to me – to us – but it was. A half a century together. Wouldn’t that be wonderful? But God reminded me this morning that we began dating for forever in 1964. We had dated briefly as sophomores in high school. But when we began dating again as seniors, we never did stop dating and loving each other – for the next 50 years! So I DID have my 50 years with my man. Thank you, Lord, for showing me that, and for loving me by letting me be Mrs. Kent Humphreys.

Please hug him for me and tell him I love him still.

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

6 Responses to Davidene’s Update

  1. nella white says:

    Just this past wk, as I rejoiced over your ongoing notes to women alone–thank you–I was wondering when your anniversary was … so i praise the Lord for His/your answer this day, even tho you didn’t know I was praying for you and wondering . . . Thank you for the description of your man and for the way God has given you insight into your long-held desires. Merry Christmas, dear heart! You both have been blessings to me . . . ~nella

  2. Carolyn Churchill says:

    Davidene, Our timeline is so similar. We started dating in October, 1964 and married in August of 1966. We haven’t done the Hawaii trip, but the memories are plentiful. I cannot truly identify with your pain, but I can with your rejoicing. We were both blessed to have men who loved Jesus more than they loved themselves. That process was beautiful thing to watch for nearly 5 decades. Thank you for sharing your heart. I love Proverbs 31 where it says…….”she does him good and not evil all the days of HER life.” You did that today!! By His Grace, Carolyn

  3. 53ford@sbcglobal.net says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart with me and others. I have tears streaming down my face and thanking the Lord for your dear friendship and His presence with you right now. I saw that brief sunshine this morning too and rejoiced that behind all those clouds the sun shine brightly. Arent we glad we can count on it shining again?

    Happy 50 years!!!! Love you….Karen

    PS Halina will sign off on the final text today and production will begin soon! PTL

    1111

    Sent from Windows Mail

  4. Eric snyder says:

    GEEEZE Davidene! You made my eyes wet!!

    Thank you for sharing your heart with all of us in such an encouraging and comforting way.

    God bless you and your family with His peace during this Christmas season.

    Eric R Snyder

    Snyder Mfg. Corp.

  5. Denny and Carolyn Repko says:

    Oh My Goodness Davidene,

    Your Note is So Sweet!
    It is a pure tribute to The Lord for His loving graceiousness to you two love birds all the days of your lives together.
    What a blessing, what a challenge,

    Thanks So Much and We Love You,
    Denny and Carolyn Repko

  6. Gib says:

    Davidene, Cheryl an I celebrated 48 years of marriage back in June. I want you to know that our lives and marriage are much richer because Mr. & Mrs. Kent Humphreys became a part of them back in the early 1980’s. We like you have wonderful memories of Kent. Trips to Glen Eyrie, trips to the Lake, holiday get togethers with our group of CHBCers and many more. Thanks for the memories. We love you and continue to pray for you.

Leave a Reply

