December 22, 2013

On December 22, 1966, I married the love of my life. It was an icy day – like today. The trees were heavy with ice, and the streets were nearly impassable. I didn’t care. I wasn’t even aware that the florist had called to say that the church decorations couldn’t be delivered in such conditions. I was busy doing my hair and my nails, getting ready for the most beautiful day of my life! (Mom had all her friends pray, the decorations were delivered.)

Kent and I had chosen each other while still in high school. Almost from the beginning of our dating, Kent assumed our marriage. He would say, “When we are married ….this” or “When we are married ….that”. Even when he gave me our engagement ring, he just drove me to a jewelry store, picked a ring, asked me if I liked it, and, when I said, “Yes”, he bought it! Right then and there! No looking around, no sizing it, no ‘down on one knee’, so totally Kent. His next words were. “Let’s go show the parents.” And that’s how it was.

And that’s how our marriage was – Kent with grandiose ideas, assuming that I was with him all the way, and I was. Up until his last trip (to India), he was having visions of what God wanted him to do, and he was off in a rush to do it. There was no “thinking” about it. It was all systems “go”, and I was jogging to keep up (sometimes literally!) He talked when he couldn’t breathe, and he “ran” when he couldn’t walk. He was an amazement. And I got to be married to him. For 46 years! That’s a long time, and way too short.

I was given a plaque as a gift. The giver told me that it describes Kent, and it does! It says,

Life is not a journey to the grave

With the intention of arriving safely

In a pretty and well preserved body:

But rather to skid in broadside,

Thoroughly used up,

Totally worn out,

And loudly proclaiming

…WOW…

WHAT A RIDE!!!

That could well be said of our marriage. It was exhilarating, and sometimes hard; it had sweet moments, and crazy ones. It was boisterous, and peaceful. It was fun, and full of laughter. And it was a passionate and serious effort to please God and each other.

…WOW…

WHAT A RIDE!!!

 

 

 

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

6 Responses to December 22, 2013

  1. Herman Reece says:

    Thank you! What a fun, glorious presentation of the life you had together. It scares me to think how much like Kent that I am. If 1 Cor. 10:31 is the core of your life, and if you have no greater desire than for Him to receive honor and glory from your life, do NOT waste time asking. “What is God’s will?” You are His will, until He says, “Check.” Then you better freeze or as in chess – you are check-mate or “dead meat.” Yes, and Prov. 3:5-6. Thank you again for reminding me how much fun LIFE is, as I remember Jeremiah 29:11 and Rom. 15:13! Have a God Blessed, Merry Christmas with your precious family. Herman Reece

  2. Kip Miller says:

    My God continue to richly bless you with joyful memories and Peace that only He can offer. Merry Christmas!

    Kip and Kim Miller
    Greenville SC

  3. Roslyn Robinson says:

    Thank you for sharing your life and heart with me. God is so awesome. I think of you and Kent quite often. It’s been a blessing to be a part of your lives. Merry CHRISTmas! To a family that has allowed me to be apart of it.

    Love you

    Roslyn Robinson

  4. Pat Dollarhide says:

    You write so beautifully! I can feel your love for Kent and the wonderful ride you took together. I’ll be praying for you during the days ahead.

  5. ptweaver says:

    This is beautiful Davidene! My heart just hurts for you. Peter and I say so often how blessed we were to have the week last December with you and Kent in St. Thomas! We miss your wonderful man so very much! The plaque really is a good description of Kent’s life, and I love your comparison of it to your marriage! Wow! What a ride! Love you Davidene! Terry

    >

  6. Carolyn Churchill says:

    IT is all such a photograph of God’s amazing grace………from high school sweethearts straight through til death parted you!! To God be the glory!!

Leave a Reply

