Two Years in Heaven

Sweet Friends:

As January comes to a close, and I think about what to write to you, I am flooded with the feelings of widowhood. Kent will have been gone from this earth for two years on the 29th of January. Our 48th wedding anniversary was on December 22nd. Living with him, and then losing him is again fresh on my mind. It is not hard to be happy for him; I am. And I am striving to be calm and happy in the memories of what I loved about him. I was just so fortunate to have been his wife, and to have shared the exciting trip that God created his life to be. Not without tears, I remember him this month.

He will always be my inspiration:

For Commitment and Dedication: From the age of 9 when he gave his heart and life to Jesus, Kent never wavered. At 17, he totally surrendered his life to Jesus’ Lordship and began a daily time with Him that he never abandoned. That daily time with God, and a fierce desire to be and do what God wanted, was the hallmark of his life for the next 50 years, until the day he died.

For Living a Life of Prayer: I have never known a person so committed to prayer. He used his remarkable God-given gift of organization to develop a simple plan for systematically praying for numerous people at the same time, and really praying for their specific needs. He communicated with these people, hundreds of them, regularly.

For Living with Pain and Suffering: Kent knew how to suffer with contentment and absolute faith that not only was God in total control, but that He was totally good in everything. His outlook was positive and vibrant to the very last minute.

For Showing me How to Die: with patience, acceptance, and quiet calmness. He always said that he would not go to Heaven until his work that God gave him to do was done. The amazing thing is that Kent knew exactly what that work was to be. He was to deliver a message, in word (speaking) and in writing. After the last book written, in December 2012, he was finished. He went to Heaven the next month (Jan, 2013).

For Passionate Living: He was the most enthusiastic life lover I ever knew. Nothing he did was half-way or mediocre. He was all systems ‘go’, or he was completely stopped. And he stopped rarely, usually only to sleep. He was so driven as a young man that he had to learn to slow down and to enjoy relaxation. That did not come easily to him. In fact, one of our family’s memories is of a vacation that lasted three weeks by car and covered the exploration (or at least a glance at) the Grand Canyon, Disney Land, Sequoia National Park, Yosemite National Park and the Redwood Forest, seeing family in Seattle, and Yellowstone Park. We were all exhausted, but he was delighted that we had accomplished all he had set out to do. He could not be a spectator. Even if he was sitting in a chair in his living room watching a sports event, he had his pen and paper, making statistics and predicting the winner. And he was usually correct!

For Mentoring and Encouraging: There is no way to tell how many people he personally touched and kept up with, but I still get emails and notes and phone calls from those he influenced for good and for God. He was an amazing networker of people from around the world. He was considered to be a founder of the worldwide marketplace movement, which swept the globe in the 1990s and into the 21st century. It flourishes today, connecting believers from everywhere to each other. Which brings me to the next inspiration…

For Having a God-Perspective World-View: Kent never thought little. He had a huge God, who did huge things, bigger than one could imagine. Kent could imagine and believe God for those things. As a result, he saw God do things that very few people get to see. I was with him for some of them, and I can’t tell you how privileged I felt to see God do His thing in such spectacular ways. To Kent, these events were commonplace. They were such a part of his life that he did not see how unusual his life was. His life was big, because his God was big, but he did not see it that way. It was just everyday living to him.

It may seem brassy to some, but I have always thought that Kent was somewhat like was Oswald Chambers, his own mentor and hero in the faith. Both men lived big, passionate, God-following lives in a humble way. Both loved travel to faraway places, Chambers to Africa, and Kent to China and India (and many other places). Both wrote in unassuming ways, Chambers in his journal and sermon notes, and Kent in letters and talk notes. Both died young, Chambers in his 40s and Kent in his 60s. Considering the difference in life expectancy for their times, they had about the same length of time for public ministry.

I loved Kent the best. Still do.

Thank you for indulging me by letting me remember my husband to you,

Davidene

 

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

10 Responses to Two Years in Heaven

  1. Laura says:

    What a wonderful 2nd year tribute to a wonderful, Godly man. Your love for each other is so obvious. Heaven definitely gained someone who embodied, “Well done my good and faithful servant”.

    Thank you for sharing your heart. I hope you continue to have many days filled with wonderful memories and less days of earthly hurting. You continue to be such an inspiration to me and countless others.

    Love you Davidene

  2. Juha Tentke says:

    Thank You for this. It is very encouraging and reminds how to live and finishing well. God bless You!

  3. Cheryl Weems says:

    Davidene, reading your posts since Kent has been gone makes me regret that I was not privileged to have been in his presence more often. Love to you and yours on this day.

  4. Max DeWeese says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart and intimate portrayal of this very special Brother and friend. I am blessed to be one of those caught in the wake of his life.

  5. Carolyn Churchill says:

    Prov 31:12 just popped into my head. We all know so well many of those verses about the godly woman. This one says….She does him (her husband) good and not evil all the days of HER life.” Well done, Davidene!

  6. Dear Davidene,

    Thank you for this wonderful blog, as you have , as it were, put this amazing man, your darling Kent, into a summary capsule of his life. I can only agree and say Amen to all you wrote. He definitely walked his talk, in fact it was his walk that spoke deeply to me. He truly was a man after Gods own heart, and I was blessed to have known him in the last decade (or so) of his life.

    I am so thankful for the wisdom, friendship, prayers, and lots of fun that JD had with him. The prayers were huge, and JD often called me into his office, to join in as they prayed for each other, for each other’s missions involvement and the business. He blessed me so much, I cannot put it into words.

    The partnership they shared, did not turn out as we had all prayed, but God’s ways are always perfect, and you and I both know that our men were blessed to have known each other, both with hearts yearning to know Christ and make Him known globally, especially in the marketplace.

    Like you, I feel so blessed, and you have taught me so much about grieving with grace. “Better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved at all.” Theres a cost to loving, but the benefits are so much greater.

    Davidene, our heart goes out to you, and trusting that God will anoint your heart with His love, and continue to fill the huge void that Kent has left in your life. You will always live in light of the wonderful memories you have, but the pain of loss, is only touched by Gods amazing love and grace.

    I don’t think I responded to your last blog, but I intended to. I was in a very bad space myself, and found it difficult to encourage anyone else. However JD and I spent some time reading it, and rereading it, and prayed for you as well.

    Actually I have been praying for you since your last blog as I knew this day was close.(Not boasting, only to reassure you that we love you and often bring you before our Heavenly Father).

    JD went to Kent’s funeral on his way to KC in February for his Crossworld Board meeting. Many of the men and woman on that board knew Kent, and had read and recommended Kent’s books. As you know, Larry Sharpe connected with Kent when he birthed BAM, Business As Missions, under the umbrella of Crossworld. Larry used Kent’s books to encourage the entrepreneurs who wanted to serve the Lord overseas using their business. I will forward this to Larry and Vickie, as I know he will want to read this. Larry is only one man of thousands that Kent mentored and partnered with, unknowingly from a distance. There’s a new gospel song being sung I truly believe that one of Kent’s Spiritual gifts, was the gift of encouragement. Don’t ever remember him being any other way. You have jut affirmed that!😄

    I pray that today you will be showered with love from above, and all your precious family, each of them, reminding you of character qualities they learned from Kent.

    Sending a hug, Davidene, and please know that you are loved and prayed for, as we trust God, moment by moment and day by day to be our All in All, especially on days like today. For this we have Jesus! ❤️

    Blessings on you girlfriend, With love, Barb (and JD)

    a recent photo…our first “selfie”hmmm!

    Sent from my iPad

  7. Alan Bennett says:

    Thank you for continuing to share. It has been a blessing.

  8. Art Kimbrough says:

    Davidene….your regular words about Kent keep his memory, and you, close to our hearts and minds. They keep him ALIVE and with us through you, just as Christ keeps God close to us through Him. Keep on refreshing and nourishing us, and we will keep on reflecting back to you how much both you and Kent mean to us…..Art & Michele

  9. Thank you, Friends, for the comments, calls, texts, and letters I received yesterday. It does my heart good to remember Kent. It also does my heart good to know that others remember him, too. For some reason, it becomes important to a widow that her man not be forgotten. I haven’t reasoned about it, but I do know that other’s remembrances bring me joy. Thank you for making yesterday a day filled with joy.

  10. Joe Pellegrin says:

    Kent lived large in God’s power thus left a very large hole in his passing on to glory. He touched my life and thousands of others as he blazed along at warp speed seeking to do God’s will in a blur of frenzy. Thanks for sharing your thoughts today! Joe Pellegrin

Leave a Reply

