EASTER SUNDAY, 2013

Another first today – the first celebration of Easter without Kent here. It made me think all day about what it must be like in Heaven on the day which we choose to set aside to celebrate His resurrection. Our are holidays even noted in Heaven? Is every day there a day of celebration of who Jesus is and of what He did for us? I wonder if such a celestial occasion would be marked by music, light, and joy? – or by worship and quiet awe? – or both?

I do know that Jesus Himself instigated one event of remembrance that He specifically wanted His followers to continue after His departure to Heaven – the one we now call “Communion”. It began during the solemn and reverent Passover dinner, and was followed by a song and prayer in the Garden. I suppose that it is not necessary in Heaven, where Jesus is present; but I don’t know for certain, because we are not told. I attended church with my youngest daughter and her family in Ada, Okla. It was a sweet and timely service for me, a comforting one. It was highlighted for me by “Communion”, and the comments made about it. I felt extra emotional support, and knew prayers were being offered for me. Thank you.

After that service, we all drove back to Oklahoma City, where we met with the rest of the Humphreys clan – sixty plus strong in number. It is our family tradition to meet as a whole to celebrate both Christmas and Easter, and Easter is always special. We pray, have a big meal, and play together. The time is centered around the children, and most of it takes place outdoors. The adults run around taking pictures of the kids having fun, and eventually it all quiets down to quiet conversation on the porch. It is a relaxing, easy, family time, and it was even today. Kent’s favorite part had been everything, but we loved watching him out taking pictures with his tiny camera, acting as much like a kid as anyone. He loved sitting on the porch and talking (of course!), and I missed him terribly. The whole family was attentive and sensitive, and if any of you read this blog, THANK YOU for making this day easier for me. You sat by me and talked, were aware when I didn’t know where to put myself, and filled in the empty seat beside me at dinner (you were a blessing, Randy). All in all, I think my children and their families and I did well getting through another first. What a strange journey. Another happy/sad day. But a good one. Enjoying my family, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

6 Responses to EASTER SUNDAY, 2013

  1. Herman & Mareita Reece says:

    Thank you again, for permitting Mareita and me to walk this road with you and Him!

  2. Roslyn Robinson says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart and family.
    Love you
    Roslyn Robinson

  3. Karen Ford says:

    How beautiful to be reminded again and see how our Lord lovingly brings joy out of, and even in the midst of, pain. You are blessed, Davidene, and a blessing to us all….love karen

  4. Keith Burkhart says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey with us. I think and speak of Kent often. Praying for you!

  5. Carolyn Churchill says:

    I can’t tell you how encouraging your comments always are because you are so real and vulnerable. I love your openness about your spiritual journey as well as your emotional one. So clearly, we are body, soul and spirit……all alive because He lives!!

  6. Cathywestm says:

    Davidene… you are so precious and apparently much stronger in spirit than most who walk on this earth. Amazing… you are indeed!

    Hugs,
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

