Sunday, March 10th

I am at home today. Can’t do church and music yet. It is gray and rainy outside. My two dogs are lying beside my chair as I type, asleep. Although this sounds melancholy, I am actually fine this morning. I have been worshipping with the Scriptures that your comments and emails have given me, and it is peaceful and calm in my heart. I think your prayers have everything to do with that. You friends have really upheld me for the past days, and I am so thankful. There are still plenty of tears, but there is hope, too. I wrote in my journal yesterday about another set of opposites that I feel – a hole and a lump, both huge in size, both inside of me. But today it has been easy to dwell on the fact that God will fill the hole with his grace and plans for me. He will also shrink the lump in time. Some days all I can do is to feel them. But today is one of hope – thank you.

I also journaled about the things I am thankful for, and the list is long. One of these days I will share with you all of the things Kent did to prepare for this time, and it will amaze you. I need to write about the ways in which my children and friends have sustained me. They have been wonderful, and have shown me love in ways that I did not think about before. They have taught me things to say and do that are so helpful, and also things not to say and do. Helpful stuff.

Well, I must quit for now. Thank you for making me and my family your on-going ministry of prayer. God’s family of brothers and sisters has never been more precious to us.

Love,

Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

9 Responses to Sunday, March 10th

  1. Ross A Hill says:

    Dear DAVIDENE,

    You are an amazing lady. God is using you to tell the world the amazing things God is doing at the time of your greatest need.

    My heart breaks for you. I can only imagine how you feel. I am so sorry.

    I was one that was blessed by Kent with his love and care. I prayed for Kent all of the time. I have a prayer journal and things I routinely pray about, I write down in the center of the page. I have Kent’s name on his own page. Every time I prayed for Kent I circled his name. I have continued to pray and circle his name. I placed you inside the circle with Kent. Because he loved and cared for me, I am now lifting you to Jesus and caring and praying for you. Nearly every day.

    If I can ever help you with anything, please call me.

    May God bless you and comfort you.

    Ross

    Ross A. Hill | CEO Bank2 Banking at Its Absolute Best™ 909 S Meridian | Oklahoma City, OK 73108 Main 405.946.2265 | Direct Fax 405-946-4769 | Alt Fax 405.946.2287 | Cell 405.413.8222 http://www.bank2online.com NMLS ID#500562 Sign up for my blog at http://www.rossahill.com

    • Dear Ross: That is amazing. PLEASE don’t ever take me out of the circle. Keep me there for 6 months, and then call me, and I will tell you the special things that God has done. I depend on onesho pray like you do. THANK YOU, Davidene

  2. Juha Tentke says:

    Dear Davidene,
    Today here in Finland was a great sun shining day. Temperature was 23 F and lot of snow. I did about 5 miles Nordic Walking. Day was beautiful, but something in my heart was sad.
    One brother from Dallas sent me email yesterday and he share something what happen 2 weeks ago at the Key Men Conference. Jim White gave there one idea to brothers and I started to pray that thru my walking:
    1 Samuel 10:9 As Saul turned to leave Samuel, God changed Saul’s heart, and all these signs were fulfilled that day.
    My situation is a different than yours, but I still like to pray that God gives joy to your heart again.
    -Juha

  3. Gib Bush says:

    Davidene, Cheryl and I love you dearly and pray for you often. Having lost Scott just four years ago the memories of the pain and emptiness felt ate still fresh in my mind. I can say that over these past four years the pain has subsided somewhat as God has began to replace it with a flood of memories.

    The investmest Kent made in my life over the past 30 years from both near and far, encouraging me in my walk and my faith and my complete trust in our Savior had prepared me for many circumstances and opportunities I have
    along the way. Especially the loss of a child, unexpectedly.

    It is good to laugh and cry, as well as experience the emotions of sadness and joy. We experienced them all and still are. Bit we fond that our God’s grace is more than sufficient in our weakness.

    We love you and your family so very much and count it a privledge thay you called us friend, and even more, family over the past many years.

    Gib

    From experience I know thwt Gods grace will see you through

    • Gib, THANK YOU for your words. They are encouraging and needed today. In years to come, no one is going to look back and say, “She was such a rock.” I am more like a puddle. And, although I have been a rock many times, it does not seem important to be one now. I am just feeling every day the huge jumps of emotion and memory, and crying and laughing through them all. It helps to from those who have survived. Love, Davidene

  4. Laura Manahan says:

    Still praying, still knowing God has you in His care. You don’t have to be a rock right now, just lean on the Rock who knows your every fear, sees your every tear and holds them all as He cares for your during this time. Let Him quiet your spirit with His love as He sings over you, during this time when worldly songs are so hard. Zephaniah 3:17

  5. Guy Madison says:

    Hi, Davidene. Although I have been somewhat missing from this blog, I wanted you (and your family) to know that I (and Jennifer) have been praying for you and them. Rarely a day goes by that I don’t think about Kent and the positive impact he had on not only my life, but so many others as well. Anyway, just know that you are being thought of and prayed for on a regular basis. You are a treasure and a super special lady. Thank you for sharing Kent with me over the past many years.
    Love you,
    Guy

  6. Brett Yohn says:

    Hi Davidene,
    Mary and I were with Kirk and Danna in California this past week speaking at the California Christian Challenge Retreat at Hume Lake. Your name and Kent’s came up repeatedly and you were prayed for. All of us who were impacted by Kent’s wide ranging ministry are praying for you and your family.

  7. S.A. Hunt says:

    Dear Davidene,

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. I pray God will sustain you with his love and his strength during the days to come. This past week I picked up a book you and Kent wrote about ministering where you are with what you have. It was the answer I’ve been looking for; my heart has been deeply touched. Thank you for sharing your insights with others. I will keep you in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

