Feb 6 – update

Dear Friends:

Yesterday we observed graveside and memorial services for Kent. Many of you were there, and came to get a hug. I loved that. Many of you are too far away to come, so I thought I would share a few things about yesterday.

One of my dear widow friends told me that, in a strange way, I would enjoy the day. She was correct. I loved it, and Kent would have, as well.

I woke up to a gloriously sunny day with no wind. Since that never happens in Oklahoma (especially the “no wind” part), I decided that the whole day was a gift from God. Heaven seemed happy. My children and grandchildren were healthy, and you should have seen my handsome grandsons in their suits. It may never happen again that they are all together in suits, but I have pictures to prove that it happened yesterday. Their “Wads” would have said, “Classic!” (By the way, for those of you who are wondering, the name Wads rhymes with “Dads”.)

Both the graveside service and the memorial service were filled with praise and honor to our Heavenly Father, as well as tribute to Kent. I think both of them were pleased. Of course, true to Kent’s pre-planning, he had his services written down for us. We just followed his instructions and added a few tiny details. He made everything easy for us before he left.

When we arrived back at the house, it was obvious that my children and grandchildren did not want to leave me there. But I had a plan to keep somewhat busy for the evening. I had my dogs returned to me.  They had been staying at a friend’s home during the past chaotic week. They are both trained therapy dogs, and I think they immediately took me on as their next work project. It is nice to have something alive and happy to see you when you get home. The house seems really big now, and empty without all the medical equipment sitting around. Please keep praying for me and my family. We need it. Adjusting to such a huge change will not be quick or easy for us, but I do know this. God would not have taken Kent if that plan did not work into the plans He has for the rest of us as well. We will trust Him to develop what life is supposed to look like – one day at a time. No hurry, just let grief and time work its way eventually into something else. How can I not be “Mrs. Kent”? Only God knows.

Again, thank you for your prayers and other thoughtful ways of expressing your care. We do so appreciate it. I’ll still be in touch to let you know how things are from time to time.

We love all of you,

Davidene and family

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

10 Responses to Feb 6 – update

  1. Tony M John says:

    I Praise our Lord Jesus Christ for the faith He gave you and your family….the dignity and poise you displayed in this time of walking in the shadow of death…. it makes me remark O death were is thy sting and O grave where is thy victory…all glory laud and honour belong to the Father and our Lord Jesus

  2. Keith Burkhart says:

    Kent’s service was God honoring from start to finish. The one word that kept coming to my mind, was influence! Praying for you!

  3. Eric & Janet Snyder says:

    Thank you for sharing about yesterday’s memorial Davidene. Our FCCI group in Long Beach was praying for you, the family and those in attendance. We will continue to lift you up as the Lord puts you on our hearts. You & Kent both set a great example of “operating your business and conducting your personal lives according to biblical principles.” Thank you for that example and please keep us all posted how the manuscripts come along. God bless!

  4. Tim Chaplin says:

    Davidene thank you for keeping us posted through this walk in life and thank you for sharing Kent with me on several occasions. I had just finished rereading CHRIST@ WORK about 2 weeks ago. I was sent to a new mission field about 2 years ago by the way the world is paying for the ministery . i work with 125 men & women that are lost there is only 2 christans my self & one other. Thank to GOD for using KENT & YOU to provide tools how to build relationship in the work place. I am seeing GOD drawing some of my co-workers to him. Thank you & your family for every thing yawl have done in honor of GOD . I will be in prayer for GOD hand to guide your path

    • Gib Bush says:

      Davidene when I first heard the news I wept tears of sorrow. But yesterday one could only experience the joy that Kent experienced in serving our Lord so faithfully. We have been blessed by his many books and letters over the years but I think the greatest blessing is reading the book he never put on paper, but rather wrote with his life, “Finishing Well.” Kent did just that. Thank you for sharing Kent with us these last 30+ years, but also thank you for your investments you made in our lives as well.

  5. Denny and Carolyn Repko says:

    Thanks Davidene,
    for your beautiful narrative of your very special day. So well said, full of His grace and mercy.
    We will be prayin for you and your family.

  6. Derry Myers says:

    Thanks so much for this report. I was unable to attend the funeral as I am recovering from back surgery but I was certainly there in spirit. Matt told me it was a great service and really ministered to him in a personal way. Debby and I are continuing to pray for you as you go through the grieving process. We know there will be good days and not so good days, but we know that the Lord is “The stronghold in our day of trouble” and He will be sufficient in all days.

  7. I just wanted you all to know how blessed I was to attend the celebration of Kent’s life. Unfortunately, I have laryngitis and couldn’t stay to visit with you and give you a hug. My great regret. Just wanted you to know that I was there and that I am praying for you. My life was blessed many years ago when God allowed our paths to cross. You have all left an indelible mark on my life and I will be forever grateful. Love, Kim

  8. Susan Fowler says:

    Davidene – I will continue to pray for you and your family as you move into this new bend in the road. Remembering that this road will take you to heaven one day will assist as you journey on. What a blessing Kent was and will continue to be through his family and writings.
    Rest in God’s loving arms.

  9. cathy westrum says:

    Keeping you lifted up in prayer Davidene.

    Love,
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

