Feb 1st – update

Dear Friends:

Although it is relatively early, I slept well last night. I woke up to an amazed sensation of being surrounded by love, and it is true. I am.

The outpouring of your care and love toward me and my family has been amazing. Truly, God gave us a huge gift when He created the concept of family – both biological and spiritual. My family and my brothers and sisters in Christ have put their arms around me in every way. As you can imagine, I am in a fuzzy little bubble of unreality, but I am peaceful and very aware of people’s hearts of love toward me. I can’t wait for his memorial service. It is going to be everything he wanted (I know that because he planned it in advance!) My children have added their own creativity to honor their father, as well. I have incredible children and grandchildren.

This isn’t saying much. I just wanted you to know that we are doing well. God is good – all the time. We are all sharing tears, stories, and much laughter. We hope to see many of you on Tuesday for the memorial. Have a blessed weekend. I’ll blog again soon.

Love, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

13 Responses to Feb 1st – update

  1. Barbara Hayes says:

    God’s plan is Perfect for our lives, as you know, Davidene. I know I can speak for so many of your friends in saying that our hearts are so heavy for you right now. Even though we know Kent is so much better now than we are here on earth, we know you are still hurting and missing him tremendously! We pray for God to give you peace. I’m so glad that you slept well last night. Thank you and Kent for touching all of our lives and being wonderful witnesses for our Lord and Savior. Much love, Barbara

  2. Debbie M says:

    So thankful for your rest & peace, Davidene. Would so love to be able to hear/see the memorial service for Kent. I hope you’re able to somehow capture it…but if not…we have his life/your heart to encourage/inspire us for the work ahead.
    May all the memories & God’s sweet presence be your comfort today & every day.
    Debbie

  3. Kent Shirley says:

    Davidene, Jon Cook called me early Thursday morning and gave me the word about Kent. I am so sorry! My heart was heavy all day yesterday in thinking about you and your kids. I have been away in Arkansas for a week and have been out of pocket. Years may have separated us but Kent’s life and ministry affected my life in a profound way. You are loved and remembered in a special way in these days. Kent fought the good fight and has gone “home”. The Shirley’s love you and your sweet family and we loved Kent! Praying for you–Kent and Terri Shirley

  4. Wes Lane says:

    The gift of Kent just keeps on giving. I can’t wait to see his production Tuesday. I was in Kansas City this week with the leaders of “Cru City” as we (SALLT – yet another Kent co-production) are now working with them as they develop deeper plans on city transformative efforts around the world – when I shared his passing with them, they were visibly shaken by the news – he had so impacted their lives. What a gift Kent has been in so many circles. I can’t fathom how many of God’s gardens are blooming around the world from the seeds the two of you have planted. Lori and I continue to pray for you and yours Davidene.

    Wes

  5. Dear Davidene,
    Thank you girl friend, dearest sister in The Lord for even thinking of us this morning. Truly God has His loving ,caring, faithful arms all around you, filling you with Hid joy and peace. Yes He is good, all the time!
    Isaiah 41:10
    I woke up several times last night , praying for you in my dreams. That has never happened before, not that I can remember. JD and I have been going through our memories of fellowship with you and Kent, usually at FCCI events. You both always made time for us, both of you speaking truth into our lives individually, to be greater men and women of God on an everyday basis , no matter what day it is. I personally was impressed with the way you both loved on each other, no matter the discussion. I remembered you saying,
    ” ok, Humphrey, ……” I forget what we were discussing, but he had a sparkle in his eye, as did you. I have often thought about that. You both modelled to us what a healthy happy Christian marriage looked like, and we have followed your example, especially through this valley of sickness and your blogging. We have learned so much and I have learned to
    “respect” JD from your example. I could go on and on but all this to say, I will be forever thankful to God for bringing 2 precious Saints
    Into our lives, you Davidene and Kent. I also know that our story has been duplicated 1000’s of times in your encounters of ministry. How could we NOT love you both???

    JD is on his way to a Crossworld board meeting in Kansas City next week, so I have been able to change his ticket so as to attend Kent’s funeral. Unfortunately, it isn’t practical for me to come, but my heart will be there. He’ll fly in Monday night, then fly out to KC Tuesday afternoon. The timing is perfect.
    Isn’t that just like God?!

    We have sent out emails of Kent’s passing to as many contacts in Canada as we could, using your blog, so thank you for that.

    I love you, my dear friend. “In this world, you will have trouble, but fear not, I have overcome the world.” Thank God for the hope He has prepared for us, as hard as it is for us to see it at times. “Weeping lasts for the night, but joy comes in the morning.”

    So glad that you had a good sleep last night, and I know that God will carry you through from his day forward . His name is “Faithful and True.”

    Hugs
    Barb

  6. Herman & Mareita Reece says:

    I had a good hug, visit, and prayer time with our precious Bonnie yesterday afternoon. She is doing well. Mareita and I again send our love and thanks for sharing Kent.

  7. Roslyn Robinson says:

    Davidene, I had been out of the office for a day, when I arrived the first email I look for is this one to see how Kent and the family is doing. You all welcomed me with open arms in your family as I begin working for the company many years ago. Kent played a very special part in my life. When I made big decisions I always thought what would Kent think about this? Both times that I gave birth, Kent was one of the first to arrive, once coming straight from a long plane ride. He took so much time for people even with a busy schedule. He had a way of showing you that you were special and God has plans in store for you. I was sadden, yet know that he ran a good race. I thank God for all the love and support he showed me. He definately sowed seed and I am a living testimony of it.

    Love you all!
    Roslyn Robinson

  8. Rhonda Curtis says:

    Hi there I was wondering what time the service is? Love Rhonda

    Sent from my iPhone

  9. Tim McLeer says:

    A man of his word and a man who never backed down on his word.
    Davidene—I will always remember Kent. He inspired me and probably did not know
    that he had any affect on me. My thinking has changed because of Kent.
    I am so sorry for you and your family because of his earthly departure but know you are happy for his destinatiion.

    Tim McLeer

  10. Mike Potter says:

    Although I did not know Mr. Humphrey’s personally, I have enjoyed reading his books.
    “Letters to Lance” has been a magnificent tool to help me communicate with my 2 boys. I received my copy from my mother, Judy, and after reading it and speaking to her about it, she brought me 2 more copies, along with several books, that Mr. Humphrey’s signed for me. I gave each one of my sons a copy of “Letters to Lance” as gifts. I am currently reading “Shepherding Horses” and am discussing some of its principles when I meet with some men from work @ Thursday morning breakfast.
    This is to say thank you and although I am sorry for your loss, I am fully confident that Mr. Humphrey’s no longer has health issues and is enjoying the rewards of his labor.
    Be encouraged by the thought that I am grateful for his life and his ministry.
    Mike Potter

  11. Hannah Arbon says:

    Dear Davidene
    You will probably not remember us but we met you and Kent several times at FCCI conferences, the last one I think in the Netherlands, probably about 13 or 14 years ago…so not recently but we have never forgotten the inspiration of Kent’s teaching; he was truly a man of God. We are holding you in our hearts and prayers as you come to terms with his physical absence, but thanking God with you for a life completed, a race well run, a Savior honored. With our love, Ian and Hannah Arbon, UK.

  12. Harold Armstrong says:

    Dear Davidene,
    Thank you for your steadfastness in keeping us informed on the status of Kent’s health recently and for the past few years. Your gifted communication has made it possible for his “prayer team” to keep you both and your family in our prayers.
    I had the distinct privilege of getting to know Kent and Jack when introduced to them by Bruce Alleman sevral years ago. While managing four of their apartment complexes we met monthly to review the financials. You can imagine what lunch with that three-some was like!
    Each year at Christmas, Kent would provide literally hundreds of Bibles and Biblically based books for us to give to our residents. Since becoming involved with CBMC and The Navigators I have observed Kent’s generosity many times over…his time.talent and resouces.
    Kent’s legacy will forever be a part of changed lives around the world that God allowed him to to be a link in the chain of their spritial awkening and maturity.
    Linda and I are looking forward to the celebration of Kent’s life on Tuesday!
    Harold & Linda Armstrong

  13. Ron Henry says:

    To the Humphreys’ family,
    As with many, my life has been enriched through my friendship with Kent the past 10 years. He always made me feel that we were walking the same road, a journey together. Our passion for bringing unity to the body of Christ, building bridges with different groups was our bond.

    So, now that Kent is home is quite comforting, but I have realized the past few days, that for me he is still with me, he may have left physically, but his spirit, his words of encouragement, his over-riding passion to share the love of Christ as to our potential remains and will forever be with me.

    My prayers will continue to support you as you enter a new season, but the journey is really just beginning.

    Be blessed & encouraged, Ron Henry

Leave a Reply

