Monday evening, Jan 28th

Dear Friends:

Kent held his own today – no better, no worse. His new hospital doctor this week is Dr. Adler. This man had performed another brochoscopy within minutes of meeting Kent. He wanted to see his airways for himself. He described them as extremely inflammed, even to the state of looking raw. They are so closed that the ventilator has to blow air with force into his airways. This process hurts, so we are grateful for pain meds and sedation. He ordered increased steroids again, because they can’t hurt. So we wait for a few days to see if the inflammation will go down or not. Basically, we are in the same place as yesterday – just with a new doctor.

I was given an interesting thought today through one of your responses to yesterday’s blog. A friend said, “Jesus brought the most glory to God during His greatest hour of suffering.” I’m not sure yet what to do with that thought, but it is worth mulling over. I do know that Kent has always been motivated by the goal of living a life that glorifies God.We will see what God makes of this. Again, we wait.

Doesn’t it seem like waiting is always the hardest part of learning and living? I am such an impatient creature. But right now, I am taking the blank time and telling myself that it is time for RESTING, not waiting. That is different. That brings peace rather than impatience. The problem is that I have to talk to myself all day long! ‘Davidene, just rest; don’t just wait.’

Thank you for your encouraging calls, texts, e-mails, and comments to this blog. Although I can’t respond to each one right now, they are all read every day. Love, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

20 Responses to Monday evening, Jan 28th

  1. Shirley Mears says:

    Thank you, Davidene, for how you encourage us even though we try to encourage you and your family. You are all such a blessing.
    shirley

  2. aprilmw says:

    Thinking and praying for you both. For Gods provision to the team of Dr’s, and for a calmness & resting for you. Prayer for strength & no pain for Kent.

    Love, Steve & April White

  3. Bayo & Erem karunwi says:

    When the people read it,they were filled with joy by the message of encouragement. Acts 15v 31. Our prayer for you dear Davidene is that The Lord will continually encourage you and your family with all the words from all your friends all over the world in Jesus name amen. We always look forward to reading from you daily,God has made you an amazing woman,that even in your pain you can still reach out ,you are special. The Lord says He is in charge so we should relax and let Him be LORD in Jesus name amen. Luv you loads Davidene. Bayo n Erem karunwi.

  4. Pat Dollarhide says:

    My heart goes out to you and your family. God brings you all to my mind many times during the day to pray for wisdom and comfort for you. What a blessing it is to know that God is in control!

  5. Herman Reece says:

    Kent is correct 1 Cor 1:31 Tells us that everything we do is to glorify God even as we REST in Him! Mareita and I are praying with you, as you and Kent did with us for several years.

  6. Debbie Hanni says:

    You and Kent both live your lives to glorify God! Thank you for the consistent example and encouragement you both have been in my life!! I know Our Lord gets great joy in your faithfulness to Him. Continuing to pray for you all.

  7. Willem Bresser says:

    Thank you for taking the time to keep us up to date on how Kent is doing. I have had the privilege to meet Kent at a Crown Conference in South Africa and we have had intermittend email communication since then; he is a great mentor to me and an example of how to live in Christ. We will continue to pray for you all.

  8. Buck Jacobs says:

    Standing with you in prayer with love and appreciation. Buck and Bonnie Jacobs

  9. Debbie Mills says:

    I thank GOD for you & Kent. He has blessed us so much in the start-up of the IMB’s Marketplace Advance Team….and we pray we have more time to learn from him. And you, so thankful for you…thank you for letting us pray with you, and be as near to you as we can, through prayer. A song came to mind this morning that has helped me in hard times. I first heard it when Jeni Varnadeau sang it (she lost her sister Lisa, one of her field personnel, some years ago). I hope it’s a comfort to you. In an older version it was Hudson Taylor’s favorite hymn. “Jesus, I am resting, resting” — http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0wEoXBlLvc

    Praying.
    Debbie

  10. sherry jordan says:

    Davidene, we just learned last night of Kent’s renewed battle with his illness. We are indeed praying, sent emails to India which will raise up hundreds of prayers of men and women who have been touched by the power of His spirit through the messages that you and Kent gave. You both are being held up before our Lord’s throne. Resting has also been on my mind as well. His hands are safe to rest in through out the day and night. love you both, Sherry and Geoff

  11. Laura Manahan says:

    Continuing to stand in the gap for Kent, you and your family. The new Chris Tomlin song “Angel Armies” says, “I know who goes before me I know who stands behind, the God of angel armies is always by my side. The God who reigns forever, He is a friend of mine. The God of angel armies is always by my side.” No safer place to be than shielded by His hand.

  12. Davidene, remember the words of Jesus in John 15:1-2 “I am the vine, and My Father is the vine-dresser. Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit. ” Kent has been pruned so many times by the Father that maybe it’s time for the Father to take him home. I pray that, that’s not the case, but if it is God’s will, I know you can rest in the fact that Kent has produced much fruit for the kingdom of heaven and our Lord has a special place prepared for him at the time He decides to take him home. Rest in Him today Davidene, rest in Him.
    Love,
    Bart A
    AfC

  13. Tim Chaplin says:

    started out this morning praying for kent. Also GOD hand will be very clear to all the medical staff & will bless all who are around you & your family today. thanlk you for keeping us posted

  14. Roslyn Robinson says:

    I thank God everyday that I have been blessed to meet an awesome God fearing family. Kent’s love for Christ definately has never lacked. I await daily to read your updates. God is so awesome. Thank you for sharing your lives with me. I love you all so much. Continue to rest in the Lord and know that he has his hands on you both.

    Love you all!
    Roslyn Robinson

  15. Diane Loesel says:

    Davidene, Jon Cook has kept us posted on Kent by forwarding your updates. We’re praying with you and for you, marveling at the way God is using you and your family even as you fight this latest battle. Praying for continued rest for you and yours, John & Diane Loesel

  16. Steve Trice says:

    Davidene, Thank you so much for the daily posts. NeAnn and I read them together each evening. You are giving us all the opportunity in a small way to walk this walk with you, Kent and your family. Additionally your posts are providing us a real life daily devotion as you express the trials and pains as well as the comfort and strength our Lord is providing. We continue in prayer. Steve & NeAnn Trice

  17. Anna McMillin says:

    Hi Davidene–you and Kent and your loved ones are in my prayers.
    I just wanted to share this verse with you that has carried me through many painful times.
    Is. 41:13- “I, the Lord thy God, will hold you by your right hand, saying unto you ‘Fear not, I will help you’.” And He will, even when you don’t know what to pray or what help you need–He knows.
    much love, Anna

  18. Dear Davidene,

    Praying along with you, each blog you write. Thank you for allowing us to walk through this valley of suffering with you. May you truly find your rest! As God does regularly, He puts right in front of me a message I need to read or hear. Trust it ministers to you too. Love Barb and JD ps…have sent your recent blogs to some precious praying friends.

    Morning

    “The things which are not seen.” 2 Corinthians 4:18

    In our Christian pilgrimage it is well, for the most part, to be looking forward. Forward lies the crown, and onward is the goal. Whether it be for hope, for joy, for consolation, or for the inspiring of our love, the future must, after all, be the grand object of the eye of faith. Looking into the future we see sin cast out, the body of sin and death destroyed, the soul made perfect, and fit to be a partaker of the inheritance of the saints in light. Looking further yet, the believer’s enlightened eye can see death’s river passed, the gloomy stream forded, and the hills of light attained on which standeth the celestial city; he seeth himself enter within the pearly gates, hailed as more than conqueror, crowned by the hand of Christ, embraced in the arms of Jesus, glorified with him, and made to sit together with him on his throne, even as he has overcome and has sat down with the Father on his throne. The thought of this future may well relieve the darkness of the past and the gloom of the present. The joys of heaven will surely compensate for the sorrows of earth. Hush, hush, my doubts! death is but a narrow stream, and thou shalt soon have forded it. Time, how short–eternity, how long! Death, how brief–immortality, how endless! Methinks I even now eat of Eshcol’s clusters, and sip of the well which is within the gate. The road is so, so short! I shall soon be there.

    “When the world my heart is rending

    With its heaviest storm of care,

    My glad thoughts to heaven ascending,

    Find a refuge from despair.

    Faith’s bright vision shall sustain me

    Till life’s pilgrimage is past;

    Fears may vex and troubles pain me,

    I shall reach my home at last.”

    Evening

    “The dove came in to him in the evening.” Genesis 8:11

    Blessed be the Lord for another day of mercy, even though I am now weary with its toils. Unto the preserver of men lift I my song of gratitude. The dove found no rest out of the ark, and therefore returned to it; and my soul has learned yet more fully than ever, this day, that there is no satisfaction to be found in earthly things–God alone can give rest to my spirit. As to my business, my possessions, my family, my attainments, these are all well enough in their way, but they cannot fulfil the desires of my immortal nature. “Return unto thy rest, O my soul, for the Lord hath dealt bountifully with thee.” It was at the still hour, when the gates of the day were closing, that with weary wing the dove came back to the master: O Lord, enable me this evening thus to return to Jesus. She could not endure to spend a night hovering over the restless waste, nor can I bear to be even for another hour away from Jesus, the rest of my heart, the home of my spirit. She did not merely alight upon the roof of the ark, she “came in to him;” even so would my longing spirit look into the secret of the Lord, pierce to the interior of truth, enter into that which is within the veil, and reach to my Beloved in very deed. To Jesus must I come: short of the nearest and dearest intercourse with him my panting spirit cannot stay. Blessed Lord Jesus, be with me, reveal thyself, and abide with me all night, so that when I awake I may be still with thee. I note that the dove brought in her mouth an olive branch plucked off, the memorial of the past day, and a prophecy of the future. Have I no pleasing record to bring home? No pledge and earnest of lovingkindness yet to come? Yes, my Lord, I present thee my grateful acknowledgments for tender mercies which have been new every morning and fresh every evening; and now, I pray thee, put forth thy hand and take thy dove into thy bosom.

    Sent from my iPad

  19. Brett Yohn says:

    There is a network of us here in Nebraska that are praying for Kent and for you. I’m sure it is global. I don’t know if you are a fan of Nancy Ortberg (John’s wife). She has a powerful and encouraging message about finding God in tough times. Here is a link: http://www.mppc.org/series/wgod/nancy-ortberg/strange-way
    It was so encouraging to me .

  20. Jacob Jennings says:

    The Thursday men’s group Kent has been leading is meeting tomorrow for a time of prayer.

Leave a Reply

