Saturday, Jan 26th – update

It is evening now, after a very hard day. It seems that every day we start out thinking we know what to expect, and it quickly becomes a different thing altogether. I thought Kent would wake up today and begin the process of a new direction. Instead, he was not allowed to wake up because he is just too sick. His inflammation levels are again very high, and his airways are again inflammed and have edema. The Relapsing Polychondritis has taken over, and the medications are no longer working. A conference was had between two doctors here, and one at Johns Hopkins, and they agreed on a plan. They must wait to implement it, however, until tests come back to see if there is a secondary infection. These new medications would suppress his immune system even more, so they can’t take the risk of giving them to Kent until they are sure that there is no infection already present. So we are taking life not one day at a time; it’s more like one minute at a time.

My sweet granddaughter came to see Kent, put her arms around me, and said, “It is so good that we can trust God to take care of this.” How right she is.

God has reminded me of His love and provisions all day through Scripture that so many of you have sent. It seemed like every time I was so sad, my phone would buzz and another verse was being sent my way in a text from a praying friend. You are better than good to me. Thank you. Love to you, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

8 Responses to Saturday, Jan 26th – update

  1. Wes Lane says:

    Lori and I are praying for you dear Kent & precious Davidene and all your clan.

  2. Jennifer Creech says:

    Randy and I are praying! We love you both so very much!

  3. Luiselinda says:

    My hubby, a missionary friend and me sent some time before lunch to pray for you and Kent and the attending doctors and assistants. This is a tough time…we embrace you all with our prayers…

  4. Derry Myers says:

    Davidene, Debby and I are diligently praying for Kent and your special family. John 14:1 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust in me. and “The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble and He knows those who trust in Him. Naham 1:7

    • Maydelle Oslund says:

      Davidene, I’ve appreciated you and Kent so much over the years, first to Harv and me and now to me through the “Encouragement for your Journey”. Your ministry means so much to me! I’m continuing to pray Isa. 41:10 and Jer. 32:17 for you and Kent.

  5. Cathy Westrum says:

    Praying all the way for you dear Kent!

    • Barbara Hayes says:

      Deuteronomy 31:6
      Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

      I don’t have to remind you or Kent to be “strong and courageous.” That is your innate nature in both of you. Just wanted, though, to remind you that you are both so strong, as always is apparent in your wonderful journey through life and Kent’s amazing fight with this horrendous disease.

      My prayer is for your continued strength, Kent’s resilience to thwart off his polychondritis, and especially for God’s Will in your lives. HIS is the perfect plan. Prayers for you both continually. Love and hugs! Barb & Gary

  6. Joanie Jedlicka says:

    please change my email address joaniejed@gmail.com

    thank you

Leave a Reply

