It’s Time to Say Thank You

“It is good to say thank you to the Lord, to sing praises to the God who is above all gods.  Every morning tell him, “Thank you for your kindness,” and every evening rejoice in all his faithfulness.” Psalm 92:1, 2 (TLB)

I am usually asked several times a day about my breathing and my general health.  I normally respond that every morning I wake up and thank God that I am still breathing. I laugh about this, but for those of us who have limited breathing; it is a very serious matter. God has made it very clear my total dependence upon Him.  In this season of the year we sometimes pause for a day, a few hours, or just a few moments and give thanks to God for all of our blessings. However, God wants us to be in a constant attitude of thanksgiving for His continual blessings in our daily lives. Pause for just a moment and consider all that God has done for you.  If you are like me, then you will soon be embarrassed by His unbelievable grace to you in every area of your life.

I am thankful for my wife of forty-six years, Davidene, and the children and grand-children that God has blessed us with through these years.  My parents and brothers and sisters have been a constant encouragement to me over the years.  Our extended family of nephews and nieces continues to bring us such happiness in each holiday season.  I was so fortunate to have so many godly mentors in my life as a teen and a young man in my twenties and thirties.  I have been blessed with some really special business partners and co-workers in several companies and organizations. What a privilege to be able to work with such wonderful people every day.  The leaders from across the world that God has sovereignly placed in my path have been a model and joy for me. We have been in two great churches over the last fifty years that have provided us with a wonderful group of fellow followers of Christ to encourage and support our Christian journey.  Then there are those men and couples with whom we have been able to experience the sweet fellowship of being in a small group together over a number of years.  And God has allowed us to pray for and support the real front line warriors who are living as missionaries and ministers for Christ in various circumstances both here in the USA and around the globe.  The leaders of other workplace organizations and Christian ministries have been such a model to me as I have sought to follow Christ. As I have tried to be faithful in praying for these people God continues to remind me how important that they have been for the direction and success of my own life.

Even with all the difficulties and challenges of our nation today, I still am allowed to live in a country where we are still free to worship God as we choose.  I live in a city and a state that has many others who share my biblical beliefs. Compared to all the large cities across the globe, our city gives us space to experience the joys of His creation.  We generally have safety and fresh air and clean water to drink right at the tap as we need it.  While much of the world longs just for clean water somewhere near their home.  We sleep on nice beds and wake up to a heated or air conditioned home protected from the elements of the weather.  We have communication equipment of every kind and can tap in to what is happening around the world and dialogue with those half way around the world with ease.

I have an income when many today cannot find a job. I am reminded that 50% of the people our world live on less than $2 a day and 25% live on less than $1 a day. I have savings when many are burdened with huge debts and poor spending habits.  I have freedom to live life while others struggle with addictions to alcohol, drugs, and sex. I have transportation to go as I please, while most of the people around the world struggle to carry food and water to their home just to provide for their families.  Many children will go to bed tonight hungry while I may overeat.  Others will go to bed tonight lonely without the comfort of a spouse or a parent.  Some will spend the night in a hospital not knowing if they will ever be able to go home again.  Some will have gotten out of the hospital but will never again have the use of an eye, an arm, or a leg. There will be those who are limited by the function of their lungs, their heart, or their other key organs.  They do not have the physical capabilities to live life as we do.   Others will be in prison without the opportunity to get out for years. And thousands will be imprisoned in their minds by depression and despair unable to cope with daily life.

In light of all of those who are not as fortunate as us, we have been asked to take the message of hope, joy, and peace.  We must keep our eyes on our provider as we are empowered by Him to serve those around us who have great needs. Without a thankful heart, we become cold to the needs all about us.  The physical, emotional, financial, social, and spiritual needs around us are overwhelming. But, the same God that has so graciously provided for us is able to provide for them.  So, in this season let us not be ungrateful for His abundant blessings.  Let us daily and hourly humbly offer our thanks to God.  May we not be so selfish and self indulgent in His blessings that our focus is taken off of Him.  God’s chosen people in Israel time after time let their eyes be captured by His blessings and took their eyes off of Him.  I am convinced that as we as thankful for His many blessings and focus on Him that we will be about His purposes in the lives of those around us.  May we as His children exhibit a Thankful Heart as we walk through each day!

Appreciating Each Breath,

Kent Humphreys

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

One Response to It’s Time to Say Thank You

  1. Janice says:

    So true. Thank you for putting our blessings…our lives in perspective.

Leave a Reply

