His JOY in the Midst of Circumstances

I was reading this morning the words of my friend Dwight Hill in his Facts of the Matter email on the subject of joy.  He wrote,

“Joy is not an emotion we can rev up.  Rather it is centered in our choice to obey God.  The result?   A supernaturally produced emotion which is the fruit of walking in the Spirit: “The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace …”  (Gal. 5:22a)  True biblically based joy produces in us a settled confidence in the future, grounded on our trust in God’s purposes and power.  We know we possess this joy when our lives are liberated from fear because of our abiding relationship with God who is eternal and unshakeable.  Consider:  You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence”  (Psa. 16:11)

I thought to myself that he nailed it.  I have joy in the midst of any circumstance because of my confidence and trust in Him and His purposes.  I am currently home recuperating from some skin cancer surgery and some repair work done to the cartilage in my nose due to my long term disease.  So, for another two weeks I am “house bound” and cannot go out in public – less I scare someone to death with the condition of my face. I am also on a severe diet so that I can lose some of my “steroid” weight since I am in a controlled environment.

I have a choice in how I view this time.  I can feel sorry for myself with yet another result of my fighting this disease over the last seventeen years, OR I can view it as a time of catching up on my reading, projects, and study time.  I can view it as a “jail sentence”, OR a wonderful time of relaxing with no schedule or agenda.  I actually put NOTHING on my calendar for four weeks.  How long has it been since you have not gone to work, had an appointment, and planned nothing for even a week?  This has been the most unusual opportunity in my life over the last fifty years.  What a privilege to have to go nowhere, see no one, and have a totally OPEN schedule to talk by phone or email, but freedom to schedule every day with no agenda.

Joy is the result of His presence and His Spirit within us.  Joy is the result of my trust in Him and His direction for my life.  I am confident that He knew that I would be facing the events of this week long ago.  He is not surprised but has a sovereign plan for each day of my life.  My responsibility is to stay on His pathway and within the circle of His blessing by making right choices.  What a joy to know that He is with me in every circumstance and season of life.  Whatever I face financially, or in my health, or relationships, or challenges in my workplace, He is there with me through the process.  So, this Spring I have experienced His faithfulness in the busy speaking and travel schedule in India and also in the quietness of recuperation at home.  In every circumstance He is right there with us.

My prayer for YOU is that you will experience that same joy in your life.  Are you trusting Him for the details of your life this week?  You can have His joy regardless of the circumstances that you are facing.  I am enjoying His presence in this different season of my life.

Celebrating His Joy,

Kent Humphreys

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

2 Responses to His JOY in the Midst of Circumstances

  1. Dr. P.P. Johnson says:

    Joy’s true meaning. Thanks. Let us enjoy this joy in the Lord.

    Praying for you.

    Dr. P.P. Johnson, Hyderabad, India

  2. Mrs Erem karunwi says:

    This is just so profound and very encouraging because of where I am now in my life. I have asked God a lot of questions! This your story is just for me a message directly from God to me. Thank you so much for sharing always . God bless you and keep you strong always.

Leave a Reply

