Shepherding Horses Seminar Testimony from Bangalore, India Pastor

Kent’s Comment:  Sometimes we never know if our prayers or our service to others really makes a difference in someone else’s life or in eternity.  However, when we get just ONE TESTIMONY like the one below, then we are encouraged to pray more and to continue to work in the harvest field. This pastor immediately implemented the training and is making a huge difference in the lives of the leaders in his community. So, thanks so much for your prayers and BE ENCOURAGED!

Shepherding Horses Seminar Testimony from Bangalore, India Pastor*

Praise the Lord!!!

I just want to express my gratitude for the privilege you gave us to participate in the last conference in Campus Crusade for Christ.

I also want to thank you for bringing Kent Humphreys and his team to India. If what happened in my heart has happened in the heart of the other participants, I can say for sure that a powerful seed was sown in the nation and the devil received a very powerful blow.

I actually believe in disciple-making but I never thought how to deal specifically with leaders in the marketplace. I was also thought to invest in people and build them so as to have leaders that will help ME build my Church. The strategy was simple: to invest in people so that they will in return will help me build my Church. The selfish motive was not apparent at first but it was there, such that I won’t say that I succeeded in building someone if at the end of the day he was not a leader in my Church serving under my authority.

The first thing that the conference shattered was that selfish motif. I learned that I was to invest into people and build them and release them to serve God wherever God placed them. I was choked to realize that I had never asked any of my people how I could help them serve God in their business. My teaching was framed to link the person to God but also to me. I accepted the paradigm shift and decided to release people. It was about God’s Kingdom not mine. I was assured that my input in people will SURELLY be rewarded in Heaven by God. When I invest into someone, I will reap interest in all the work the person will do for God wherever he is.

The second thing that blessed me was to accept that the leaders in the marketplace could actually be serving God in their work place. The passage of Hebrews 11 was VERY STRIKING. I was surprised that it NEVER occurred to me that most or almost all the people God used were leaders in the marketplace. They were men and women in authority in the secular world and could use them to powerfully advance HIS Kingdom.

Considering these two main things that touched my heart during the conference I decided to take action.

I was working with an IT engineer working in a big company of the city for the past 3 years; a man who has travelled in more than 25 countries and was planning to let him down because he was not joining my Church nor was responding to my teaching as I EXPECTED. When I learned that my job is to teach and train people and that it is God’s business to bring the fruits, I resume continuing with him and his family afresh. We usually met once every week.

I selected 3 other men and one woman and decided to implement the message on them; 3 of the men are chief of families and business leaders in the marketplace. The woman has her own business and one man is also completing his MBA. I decided to see him as a business leader to be and deal with him as such. All of these people were very happy to receive me either in their homes or workplace once a week.

When I met with my old disciple, I asked him the question I had never asked for the past 3 years. What can I pray for your work? He explained joyfully and I prayed. I called him again during the week to clarify something about his work and we prayed again on the phone. I was building trust. One week letter, he called me to explain his business plan for the coming month and we prayed about it. Then he asked me the beautiful question I never heard for the past three years. “Pastor, how can I glorify God in my work place? Please I would like you to give me a teaching on this in our next Bible Class.” I was excited and humbled. It seems God was beginning to move in his heart. Why only now? Maybe it was because I was no more working for my Kingdom but for God and the success of others. I was glad I that the question came when I was reading the book Show and the Tell by Kent. I got enough input to tell him how he could glorify God in his work Place. It was beautiful. I told him that he had a great range of opportunity to serve God as he goes from one country to the other that I who was confined in one place. He was excited. He was just to be the salt and the light wherever God placed him. I could see that the fear that I was dragging him to settle in my Church was vanishing. HE COULD REMAIN IN HIS PLACE AND DO GREAT THINGS FOR GOD.

So far, I have met each of my horses twice already. They know I am committed to teach them the word of God, to help them apply it in their lives and show them how to serve God through their business. I TOLD THEM THAT GOD WAS VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SUCCESS OF THEIR BUSINESS AND THAT INCREASED THE FREEDOM IN THE ATMOSPHERE.

I can already feel an increase in the bonding with each of these people. As I pray and continue the work trusting God. I believe God will bring fruits and more fruits for HIS GLORY and the EXPANSION of HIS KINGDOM.

Thank you Mr Charlie.

God bless you and your family.

Pastor, Bangalore, India

**This letter was sent to Charlie Abro, who coordinated the seminars in India in March, 2012. The name of the pastor has been withheld and the content edited in order to preserve the confidentially. Italics are my emphasis and the bold and the CAPITALIZATION are each the pastor’s. 

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

2 Responses to Shepherding Horses Seminar Testimony from Bangalore, India Pastor

  1. Laurie Goree says:

    Fabulous! 🙂 Praise be to God!

  2. Greeting in jesus name.dear paster i need your email i want share about ministry and prayer req.

Leave a Reply

