update – thursday, jan 12

Kent is doing well in his recovery process at home. In fact, he had a pre-scheduled cataract surgery yesterday! He had scheduled surgeries to both eyes before he became ill. Due to the hospitalization, he missed the first date, but was able to go ahead and have his right eye repaired yesterday. He did well, and has no side-effects from the surgery. He will get the other one done after his trip to India.

He amazes me. He just keeps doing life as though nothing  is going on with his health, and I have to work hard to keep up with him. As I talked with God about all of this, He reminded my heart that my role is to love and support my man; thankfully, I don’t have to be a mother to him, or act like the Holy Spirit and make his decisions for him. I am grateful, because I wouldn’t want that responsibility. God has a sense of humor, however, and He showed it through a friend of mine this morning. We were talking about Kent’s decision to go to India, and a few of my girlfriends admitted that they thought he was just being “Kent”, and that Kent is a little passionate and eccentric compared to most other people. Then my one friend, Debbie, declared that God is thrilled about that, because God is eccentric, too! He can’t always be understood, refuses to be put in a ‘box’ of expectations, has visionary ideas with no boundaries, and on and on. I’d never thought that way, but I had to admit that God is a really good pattern to follow! I’ll never understand completely what makes Kent tick sometimes, but I am along for the wild ride! I’ll blog from India (if I can figure out how to do it).

In the meantime, please keep praying for us. Kent still needs to improve his strength and energy. He is actually being a very good patient, resting when he needs to rest, eating healthy, and being sweet about all of it. Being sweet is hard when a person is on a lot of steroids, because steroids change emotions in a negative way. But God has given grace to Kent in this area, and I am the beneficiary. I am thankful!

Have a good day,

Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

2 Responses to update – thursday, jan 12

  1. Susan Fowler says:

    Praying with you and for you! When is your trip to India. I would love to add it to my prayer list. Also, what is Kent to be doing while he is there?

  2. Kim Shelton says:

    Kent has certainly amazed a lot of us common folk. 🙂
    I was blown away by his last blog, his passion, his exhortation, his heart. I have been challenged and inspired by this man of God. I am thankful for both of you and look forward to hearing about India, a country that has been on my heart.

Leave a Reply

