Setting People Free

A New Year is here with all of its challenges and opportunities. Little do we know all that God has in store for us this year in our businesses, our families, our finances, and in our relationships. A few times each year, I feel that I have an opportunity to start fresh, to begin again. In the fall, new beginnings happen as the school year starts after a busy summer, and again in January things begin anew. At those times, we tend to start new routines and begin to build new patterns into our lives.

In Lamentations 3:22-23, God reminds us that every day His mercies are renewed. His faithfulness never wavers and His love is unconditional. Each morning we are able to come to Him for cleansing, direction, and strength for another day in the marketplace. I do not know about you, but I need that fresh start. In my readings in recent weeks, I have been reminded of God’s promise to us in Isaiah. Speaking of the Christ, the Messiah who was to come, verse one proclaims,

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to preach the good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom to the captives, and release for the prisoners.” 1

In this verse, God is talking to you and me as leaders in the workplace. We have been anointed by God to be His personal representatives in our companies. We are to tell His good news to everyone. He has commissioned us to heal the brokenhearted, the abused, the discouraged, the hurting, the hopeless, and the struggling ones. He has asked us to share the freedom of Christ with those employees, clients, vendors, and associates who are in bondage to today’s fast paced culture. We are to share the secrets of Christ to those locked in the prison of debt, sexual problems, addictions, and impossible  relationships. As we live each day in the marketplace, we are to help release those prisoners around us.

There are many workplace leaders who are frustrated, alone, and ready to quit. They need hope, just as we do. We must free those trapped by this world’s business system, so that they can know the Spirit’s direction and power for living between Sundays. We must release those mired in “old paradigm” religion, not realizing that God has called them to go out beyond the walls of the church and model the risen Christ in their workplace.

As we face this New Year let us determine again to be obedient, faithful, and sensitive to the Spirit of the living God as we join Him in freeing thousands to walk in His pathway. May we be as lights in a darkened world, showing others the path to freedom.

Offering a helping hand,

Kent Humphreys

1Isaiah 61:1 (NIV)

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

One Response to Setting People Free

  1. Jim.Dismore says:

    Hello Kent
    I’ve been praying for you fervently! I will increase it more for your health and stamina
    So as to carry out GOD’S calling for you!
    I know that GOD will provide you the strength
    and stamina to make the trip!
    As I was praying this morning for the above
    I had a strong sense that GOD said that I should go on this trip! Needless to say that I want to be obedient to HIS word! I have been
    Invited on several occasions over the years
    by yours and mine friends Rajeev Menon
    and Marion Mahonha! I’ve been physically, financially able to do so! I’m now praying
    that is this the time.
    What do you think about
    me tagging along! I believe that I have a message for the men and women of the market place! Please pray for GOD ‘S direction
    For me!
    Thank You for your Obedience to GOD and
    being my friend!
    Blessings and Health to You!
    “all things through GOD is possible”
    Jim D

Leave a Reply

