Adventures of Superman

(Originally written August, 2006)

Several years ago a serious businessman walked into a small room and came out a few minutes later attracting a small crowd and flashing cameras.  He was wearing shorts and black tights and a red cape with a large S on the back.  It was costume day at our distribution firm and some of my co-workers never stopped laughing at me that day.  My wife Davidene had done a really good job on the outfit, and in a weak moment I had agreed to wear it. After I had made the rounds embarrassing myself in front of several hundred employees, I once again put on my regular clothes and assumed the role of Kent Humphreys and not Clark Kent.

Recently I was reminded of this occasion when the costume appeared in the play clothes that our young grandchildren use. A few nights later I had a dream that I really could fly and flew around the world helping people in need.  In the dream I did not have the red cape but simply flew in my regular clothing going from place to place making a difference in the lives of people. Most of you are probably too young to remember, but as a kid growing up I read the Superman comics and saw the show on TV.  Superman was quite popular long before it ever came to the large screen. All of us want to be a part of defeating evil and bringing good to our city.

As a business leader today while also trying to serve a ministry to CEOs, I seldom feel like Superman.  My desk seems to have exploded with a year full of travel.  There are phone calls to return, emails to answer, and projects to complete.  The credenza behind me is stacked high with books to read and videos to watch.  I usually put people before all the stuff, so that sometimes the stuff still remains.  I am a highly organized person but tend to over commit so that my enthusiasm outweighs my capacity.  I am sure that you have never had such a problem. So while the world and the marketplace calls me to activity, Jesus simply whispers to me to simplify, read His Word, spend time in prayer, and be sensitive to His Spirit and the needs of people around me.

Jesus made this alarming statement in John 14:12 to 14, “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing.  He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father.  You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” Jesus goes on to say where we are to get this unusual power.  “I will ask the Father, and He will give you another counselor to be with you forever-the Spirit of Truth…. The Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name will teach you all things and will remind you of everything that I have said to you…. My peace I give to you…. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Jesus goes on in chapter 15 to share that this power is gained from a relationship of abiding in Him and in chapter 16 that this Spirit will guide us and make known to us all that is ours in Christ. And in chapter 17, Christ prays to the Father that we might be ONE. Quite frankly the reason that we do not exhibit super-divine power as business leaders is that we tend to rely on our own strength and do not PRAY, do not ABIDE in Him, do not ask for His WISDOM, and do things on our own instead of working TOGETHER. So, the next time that you feel in need of His Divine presence, just turn in your Bible to John 14 to 17 and be reminded of the steps to appropriating the power of the risen Christ.  He wants to show His power in your daily life.

Depending on Him,
Kent Humphreys

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

Leave a Reply

