A Priority Appointment

I have hardly been able to contain myself because during the last few months I have had the chance of a lifetime. I have wanted so many times to share my experiences with you, but I was sworn to secrecy. It all started several months ago when I received a phone call from the assistant to the Secretary of Commerce. She stated that I had been picked as one of only a dozen C.E.O’s from small businesses across the southwest for a special pilot program. Twelve of us from Tulsa, Dallas, Forth Worth, Houston, and Oklahoma City would fly to our nation’s capital once each week to meet with a national leader. After hearing the details and verifying their authenticity, I joined the program. I had to postpone a key customer meeting, a lunch with the banker, and a visit from a large supplier, but the pilot program appointments were now my number one priority.

We met one day each week for twenty weeks. The first week was on a Monday, the second was Tuesday, etc. The unusual sequence made it easier to keep the meetings confidential. All of the C.E.O.’s flew out early in the morning, arriving just in time for a special luncheon meeting. We then met with a dignitary for three hours, discussing the real issues which we face today as small business people, particularly as these related to the expert’s field of expertise. By 4:30 pm we were headed back to Washington National Airport for the late night flight home. We got to fly first class on most of the trips. You now see why I could only share this with my wife and a couple of key associates.

The first Monday we met with The Secretary of the Treasury. Then followed three weeks with business leaders, the President of Ford Motor Co., the Dean of the Harvard Business School, and the Federal Reserve Chairman. The next for weeks we were hosted by governmental leaders – the Speaker of the House, the Secretary of Defense, the Majority Leader of the Senate, and a Supreme Court Justice. Then followed some “lighter” weeks with one of my favorite movie stars, my favorite all time pro basketball player, a leading network news caster, and finally Billy Graham. The next four weeks included time with the key national figure in each of the areas of diet and exercise, medicine, education, and the director of NASA. The final weeks gave us a worldview with the head of NATO, the Chairman of the United Nations, and the Secretary of State. After nineteen weeks, we had enjoyed the opportunity of a lifetime. We were tired of the trips but thrilled to be learning from the wisdom of our nation’s leaders. And much of the time they spent listening to our concerns. However, none of us were prepared for the last week.

We were told that Air Force One would pick us up at our home city (my time was 6:45am). After a brief stop in Tulsa, we headed to Washington D.C. Upon our arrival, we took a chopper flight to the White House lawn. There the President came out to greet us and lunch was waiting. The food and the service were first class!

Because of his busy schedule the President was only able to meet with us for an hour after lunch instead of the normal three-hour session. However, we then spent the afternoon with four members of his White House staff. Before we left, he called me aside. He said that he wanted to continue our dialogue and gave me his special private line number. Each of the twelve of us would get an email to our home each morning by 6:30am. He stated that it would take about five minutes to read the summary of the key points of wisdom for the day compiled from his best advisors. Then I could call his number, and he would personally take two or three minutes to listen to my concerns. I could not believe my fortune that I could get a personalized email each day form the world’s most powerful figure, and that he would talk to me every day. Exhausted I fell to sleep on our return trip home on Air Force One.

I woke up and was stunned to find myself in my own bed; it was 2:30am. This had only been a dream. You already knew it was a fantasy because the President would have never cared that much about me. I would never be special enough to get a morning briefing from the wisest minds in our world or communicate directly with such people of influence. You are right, but I have even a better deal. Every morning I have the opportunity to get a five-minute update from the greatest treasure of wisdom ever assembled (the Bible) and speak personally to the creator of the universe (prayer). The God that created me cares about me and wants to visit with me about my deepest concerns. Most mornings since 1959 I have met personally with Him. We may use the excuse that we do not have enough time. But we have time for CNN or Fox News, our favorite T.V. program, our newspaper, and our hobbies. If we would take off a full day to meet with a world leader, can’t we take “Seven Minutes” to meet with God who allows these leaders to rule? God didn’t send Air Force One, but He sent His Son. “Seven Minutes” each morning can change your day!

Keeping My Appointment,

Kent

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where He prayed. Mark 1:35 (NIV)

In the morning, O Lord, you hear  my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation. Psalm 5:3 (NIV)

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

2 Responses to A Priority Appointment

  1. Bill Bliss says:

    Kent, what a great post. Thanks for sharing and for continuing the encouraging role you have played to so many people for so many years. Blessings to you.

    Bill

  2. Maydelle Oslund says:

    What a wonderful God we have to have allowed you to have this special experience and strength for each day!! Praise God! Ex. 15:11
    In His amazing grace,
    Maydelle Oslund

Leave a Reply

