A Letter to My Father

(Originally written March, 2000)

Father, I wanted to write you about my friend Joe. As you know his desk is not far from mine, and he has been a loyal co-worker and a faithful friend for many years. Joe is greatly admired by everyone that he works with, and few exhibit his skills on the job. Not only that, he has been a faithful husband, a good father, and is respected in the community. But, as I am approaching the end of many years at this job, I’m concerned about my friend Joe.

I remember years ago when I was adopted into your family as a young boy. What a privilege it has been to sit at your table, take long walks with you, and to discuss all the significant activities of my life. Our relationship is the most important one in my life. Without you I could have never weathered the storms of life that each of us must face. You have constantly been there for me in both the good times and the bad. You have given me your love and the courage to continue when I had lost hope. You have been so precious to me, a source of wisdom, a reservoir of strength, and an anchor in the storm. Our relationship has been so special that I’ve wanted to share it with Joe.

Father, it is my concern, that after all of these years of working with Joe and enjoying his friendship, I have not been sufficiently able to explain to him how important that you are to me. I believe that he has visited your house from time to time, and he probably thinks that he knows all abut you. But like most of us men, Joe is stubborn, and I guess that he feels that he doesn’t need a Father like you. We talk a lot about business, sports, and activities, but most of us men don’t really like to get personal. So, I’m afraid that Joe is about to enter the most critical phase of his life without your help. There will be a time when the death of a loved one, the disappointment of a child or a friend, financial reversals, or even illness will come to Joe as it does to all of us. And, at that time I so much want Joe to experience your companionship.

I just feel like I have failed…and I literally cannot stop crying. Out of my inmost being suddenly spill tears of concern for my friend. I guess that I care about Joe even more than I thought I did. I wonder why I never have been able to get the message across. Have I not spoken loud enough? Or have I been too strong? Have I not served Joe? Does he really know that I do care? Does he realize how much I love him, or even more, how much you love him?

I guess it is finally dawning on me that soon I won’t be working with Joe everyday. When Joe faces the tough times of life, will he be drawn to you and seek your help or will he try to go it alone? Will my life have had any real impact on him? I think after all of these years that Joe trusts me as a leader, but will he know that you are the source of my strength?

So, Father, would you watch over Joe after I am gone? Maybe another one of your children will help Joe find the way when he is willing to come to you. Maybe Joe will call me for lunch someday after I’m gone, and I’ll be able to share with him more about you. Regardless, I never thought that I would cry over my concern for another man. I guess people have become my “bottom line” in business. But, that’s because you have given me a heart to love others. That’s what is so neat about being in your family. And just think, I get to experience your love for all of eternity. Well, I want you to know that I will be back home soon. Maybe, we can have breakfast together. Thanks for listening.

Your son,

Kent

“I am no longer in the world; and yet they themselves are in the world, and I come to You.  Holy Father, keep them in Your name, the name which You have given Me, that they may be one even as We are.  12 “While I was with them, I was keeping them in Your name which You have given Me; and I guarded them and not one of them perished”  John 17:11-12 (NASU)

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

Leave a Reply

