Kent Health Update (8/8/11)

Dear Friends,

I just wanted to thank you for your prayers and give a short update.  My disease is stable and my breathing capacity is still at 20%.  However, I am doing really well and am now walking two miles every day.  One year ago I was walking 100 ft or 200 yards and stopping to sit down on my walker.  I am also on a very low-calorie diet to lose the weight that I have gained as a result of being on steroids over the last three years.  So far, I have lost 20 pounds and have 20 more to go to get back to where I was in 2008.  Please pray for continued disciple in this area.  On steroids, without great discipline, a person can gain 1 to 5 pounds a month.  Since the doctors added a new drug for me, I have been able to reduce the steroids to the lowest level ever.  This allowed me to start the diet and not be hungry all the time. On heavy steroids you are really hungry ALL of the time.

So, I praise the Lord for His grace and daily provision.  My disease is still active, but the inflammation is down somewhat.  I have tracked my blood test for the last three years and the inflammation can change dramatically. The side effects of the inflammation from the disease and the steroids impact the heart, liver, blood sugar levels, kidneys, and other areas in addition to the weight. I am thankful that God is allowing me to get better and more healthy despite the lingering disease. Please express your thanks for His mercy and grace to me.

Thanks again for your friendship and prayers.

Kent

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

3 Responses to Kent Health Update (8/8/11)

  1. Buck says:

    Kent,
    Thanks so much for the update and praise the Lord for the good report! So glad to hear! Press on dear brother!
    Love in Christ,
    Buck

  2. Guy Madison says:

    Love ya Kent. Thanks for the update. Will continue to fervently pray for you.
    Guy

  3. Joanie says:

    Thank you for sharing. Tom and I are so happy at your progress. We know God makes miracles happen everyday and we pray that you are one of them.
    Tom and Joanie

Leave a Reply

