May 26, 2011 – update

Wow! It’s been so long since I updated this blog, but I am in a mood to remember. A year ago this week, I reached out to our friends around the world for help. We needed to bring my precious Kent to God’s throne in prayer, asking Him for His will to be done with Kent’s health. It was a tenuous time, filled with new and frightening experiences as well as opportunities to learn how to ask for and receive help. A year ago this morning, Kent and I and two of our children were going to John’s Hopkins for the first time, lost (quite literally some of the time) and anxious, but still knowing we were there by divine appointment. God had already done great things to move events around to help Kent. We didn’t know it quite yet, but by this time tomorrow he would have stents in his lungs. Those stents saved his life at the time, and then threatened it again later. What a ride it has been!

In an hour, we again leave for Johns Hopkins – this time for a check-up. Kent has been stable for 8 months – a miracle that you prayed for and God chose to grant. It is with huge thankfulness and gratefulness that I say, “Thank you” to every one of you. What a different trip it is this year! I didn’t think we would have this year at all, and yet it has been productive and fruitful, with many happy times with family and friends, and blessed times of ministry as well.

We love you. You have stood with us with prayer and encouragement the whole way.

In Him, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

3 Responses to May 26, 2011 – update

  1. Joy Fischer says:

    All I can say is, “Praise God, from Whom ALL blessings flow!” I’m so grateful that God has given us another year with Kent. What a ride it has been. Praying for wisdom and clear direction from the doctors.

    Love,
    Joy

  2. Hello Kent and family:

    I have been following and praying for Ken’ts recovery since his illness was first brought to my attention during my local FCCI group meeting in Albuquerque. My heart immediately went out to all. You see, I too suffer from tragic lung problems. I was actually a participant in the original lung stent clinical trials conducted at National Jewish in Denver. I know of the limited success of the stents and I am very familiar with the weight-gain caused by steroids. (But it does slowly subside) I am so glad to hear that the amount of Ken’s steroids has been reduced. Long-term steriod use caused me to lose all of my teeth and gave me cataracts in both eyes and very brittle bones. Since that time, I am only on low-dose steroids and have recovered from those symptoms.
    The doctors tell me now that there is nothing more that they can do for me, but I have to know that it really irritates their understanding when they look at a man who for all practical purposes looks healthy, aside from the 24/7 oxygen canula. I have been terminal for years with Stage 4 GOLD End Stage COPD. For years! God is my physician, the Great Physician, and I have told the doctors that they don’t teach much about Him in their medical schools.
    I have been revived at least four times in my life, and I have no intentions of going home to my Lord anytime soon, unless He calls me Himself. I am looking forward to heaven, but for the time being I am busy about my Father’s business. May He bless you abundantly and use you to show others how mightily He works in all of your lives. Blessings to all. Chaplain Steve.

  3. Cathy Westm says:

    If we packaged all of life’s appreciation and determination in one person… it would be Kent.

Leave a Reply

