Dealing with Our Appetite

(Originally written September 2002)

Have you ever experienced an insatiable appetite? All my life I had loved to eat, but in 1994 my appetite became ravenous and was never satisfied. That was the year I was diagnosed with a rare disease, and my doctor put me on heavy medications including strong steroids. Over the next six years I gained nearly a pound a month. I was always hungry; my internal gauge never registered “full”. A couple of years ago God miraculously took the disease away, and I gradually got off the steroids. Within months I easily lost 15 to 20 pounds, but was never able to lose beyond that.

This summer my wife, Davidene, and I joined Weight Watchers. Their program is built on a few simple things. First, it establishes a point system to show you the results of your eating choices. A grilled cheese sandwich costs me 13 points, a piece of cake is 12, and ravioli is 16. But fruit is only 1 or 2 points and green beans are zero. A single dip of ice cream is 7 points and a Krispy Kreme donut is 5 to 9 points, so I seldom have enough points left over to indulge. Next, we simply journal every day what we eat. Even if it is ugly we simply record our choices points. Then weekly we attend a meeting for encouragement and accountability (the weigh in!), hearing stories of victories and defeats.

Like so many others, I had wanted to lose the extra weight but never got serious about doing it. Recently I became motivated by a co-worker who lost 40 pounds over eight months. She gained victory, one choice at a time. As she learned the consequences of her choices, she gained the courage to make wiser choices. Her family and co-workers cheered her on. Because of the changes in her life (physically and emotionally), I decided that if she could do it, so could I. Davidene became my encourager and accountability partner. We are slowly but steadily progressing on our journey.

The body of Christ is a lot like Weight Watchers. The Bible is the book that tells us the results of good and bad choices. We can journal our walk with Christ and meet weekly with others for accountability and encouragement. A partner makes all the difference during the difficult journey. Isn’t it interesting that the model of one life can have such an impact? The world does not want another easy formula, but they desperately desire to see a changed life. Can our family, friends, and co-workers see the radical change in us? If they do, they will want to try it for themselves.

Making better choices,

Kent

“But Daniel made up his mind that he would not defile himself with the king’s choice food.”

                                                                                                                                          Daniel 1:8 (NASV)

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

One Response to Dealing with Our Appetite

  1. Cathy Westm says:

    Dear Ones… Thank you for the above & Happy Resurrection Day! We Rejoice!

Leave a Reply

