Vision

(Originally written January, 1996)

My family, friends, and business associates were shocked, but tried not to express their surprise that “conservative” Kent would let someone attack his eyes. As most of you know, I had the RK (Radial Keratotomy) surgery in the early fall. First they cut on my left eye, and then three weeks later did the right one. I have worn glasses since age nine and was too lazy and too much of a non-conformist to try contacts. But after a couple of my close friends went “under the knife” with successful outcomes, I said “why not?” Since I am also far-sighted and need glasses for reading and desk work, I will still wear glasses much of my day. But, I wondered what it would be like to see while swimming, jog without glasses, or encounter rain or cold weather without fogging lenses.

RK has been around for about twenty years in Europe and available to anyone in the United States for at least ten years. This year the new laser surgery and increased RK ads will attract many more candidates and bring the prices down some. This is how it works; a doctor tests you for about two hours, then you return later for surgery. After taking a couple of pills and eye drop sedatives for about an hour, the doctor performs the RK. You are actually awake as he cuts your eye in various places. After the first surgery, I saw 20/30 within twenty-four hours; what a miracle! You then sleep for about two days.

I made a mistake by putting on my old glasses which tried to correct my now “corrected” left eye. For four days this caused real stress, until I got a clear lens put in the lift side of my glasses. Later I changed to a slight correction lens. On my second eye, I was prepared and actually tested at 20/400 before surgery. I could barely pick out the big “E” on the will without my glasses. Four days later I flew across the country and drove for three hours at night without any glasses for the first time in thirty-three years of driving. I couldn’t quite read all the signs quickly, but I was “legal” at my new 20/40 vision.

This has brought a brand new world to me. I really appreciate the blessing of sight, of not needing glasses all the time, and of the “instant” change. It was like the Bible story where Jesus touched the man. In explaining the healing later, the man said that all he knew was, “once I was blind, but now I see”. Long term gain may require “short term pain”, (although I had little pain). The second eye was weaker so the cuts were longer and deeper. As our creator fashions us even as adults, with our weaknesses, He has to make deep cuts that may hut in order to correct our lives. Socially, physically, emotionally, and spiritually, we all undergo surgery by the great physician, as He focuses attention on the important things in life. If we continue to try to put on our “old world view” lenses, then our Creator allows continued stress and tension in our lives until we focus on the right things. My surgeon was experienced, skilled, and a trusted friend. He knew just where to cut and how deep. God created us, He is even better!

A friend recently said that when he turned forty, he wore glasses for reading over his contacts. His doctor told him that was unnecessary. “Just wear one contact for nearsightedness and one for farsightedness; your brain will know which eye to use. In life we need vision for down the road and vision for current problems. Only God can give us the perfect prescription for each. As we face a New Year, I hope you will get your daily checkup with your Creator and gain His focus as you face the hurdles of the New Year.

Seeing clearly now,

Kent

“Once more Jesus put his hands on the man’s eyes. Then his eyes were opened, his sight was restored, and he saw everything clearly.” Mark 8:25 (NIV)

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

One Response to Vision

  1. Cathy Westm says:

    Clearly!

Leave a Reply

