Contentment

Originally written January, 1992

As we begin a new year we must check our attitude because it colors everything that we do.  Contentment is never based on our circumstances but, on our focus.  Long ago there lived two famous kings; both were rich and powerful.  One was one of the greatest leaders this world has ever known.  He was brave yet sensitive, a great fighter yet forgiving, well liked yet humble, aggressive yet patient, loyal to his followers yet the victim of disloyalty. The other one was noted to be one of the most evil kings of all time. You may not remember his name, but he was married to the wicked Jezebel.

The other thing these two kings shared was a lack of contentment.  The evil king Ahab owned a great palace and much land, yet committed murder to obtain a small garden plot.  The good king David had several wives, yet committed murder in order to take another man’s wife.  If circumstances could lead to contentment, then both of these men would have surely been satisfied. They had power, position, property, and all the pleasures this world can afford. David enjoyed tremendous popularity. Both were at ease with all the happiness that success could provide.  The evil Ahab let greed and covetousness go unrestrained.  This vile man brought disaster to his house, his children, and his country.  David, on the other hand, had lived a good life.  This godly man brought ruin to his reputation and his children, and watched his kingdom be torn apart. This happened because his focus had shifted to one of lust, passion, and insatiable desire.   This was not just an exciting movie, the plot was real and the ending was not a happy sight.

What are we looking for today to make us content and satisfied?  Are we constantly gripping and complaining of our state, focused on the possessions or pleasures of others?  The television has become a source of fantasy and illusion to us all.  It shows us a “beautiful lawn” but does not tell us that it too has hidden weeds and needs mowing. We need to be careful about what we covet and who we envy. Are we going to begin this year by being disgruntled, unhappy, and disappointed? One of the most famous writers of all time, Paul, wrote, “for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances… the secret of being content in any of and every situation… If we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.. be content with what you have.” because God has said – “never will I leave you.’” As we face a changing and unstable world in this New Year, let us learn the discipline of contentment in whatever situation that we find ourselves.

Enjoy your new focus,

Kent

Philippines 4:11; I Timothy 6:8; John 14:18

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

2 Responses to Contentment

  1. Buck Jacobs says:

    This is a good word Kent and I appreciate it. I have learned that contentment is a choice that I make based on my understanding of God’s sovereign goodness and grace. When I realize that all I deserve is to die and go to hell, and look at what I have been given in Jesus, I realize that I have all I need. I choose to be content because I know that my Father is good and will give me everything that is best for me at the moment, and all I ever need to be and to do all He created me to be and do! When I compare what I have with what I deserve contentment is an easy choice!

    I’m pressing on toward the Bema with you. Thanks for your encouragement!
    Buck

  2. Cathy Westm says:

    Hi! Great message!

Leave a Reply

