Update 3/14/11

Dear Family and Friends,

I would like to do four things since you have NOT heard from me in months.

  1. I want to give you a brief health update.
  2. I want to invite you to meet with 300 Chinese business leaders in Beijing, China in May (probably May 16th and 17th for a conference and 18th and 19th for a business fair).  And later opportunities for LONG TERM impact of leaders from over 50 Chinese cities or more by personal relationships with business and city leaders and possible mentoring and doing business.
  3. See the current widow letter on our site. It is NOW available either by email or letter.  Please send the widow names and addresses or emails to Kristen@fcci.org or call her at 405 949 0070 x101 to get the monthly letter.  Widows are at the TOP of God’s special list with orphans.
  4. Speaking update.

1. Health Update

I am really doing well.  God has allowed me to function at about 80% even though I still have only 20% lung capacity. I cannot walk up stairs or inclines easily or carry heavy items.  I can sit and talk and walk on level surfaces. I have surprised my wife and best friends by drastically changing my lifestyle.  I only go to the office 2 or 3 days a week and work from home 2 or 3 days a week.  I try to do most of my business and many of the emails and communication at the office.  That leaves the time at home to do writing, editing, overseas emails, and phone calls.  I have suspended ALL overseas travel but am connecting a number of friends for China and other countries.  I have cut most air travel outside of Oklahoma but am doing a lot of speaking right in my home city and state for the first time in years and enjoying it.  I take four breathing treatments every day, a couple of lung thumper sessions, medication, and other health stuff but can do this fairly easily unless I am traveling. I met Johns Hopkins in January and just saw my doctor in OKC today.  My inflammation is down this month and I am taking the maximum dosage of a cancer drug.  So, starting this week I am attempting to reduce my steroids  gradually by 50%.  This will help greatly with my weight and SIDE EFFECTS.  My weight is really up the last few months and my blood sugars have gone way up.  So, the steroids have kept the disease in tact but the steroids  and weight have finally really impacted me.  The disease “appears” to be under control and my lungs appear to be as good as they were last May, but the medicines have taken a toll.  My general attitude and health amazes the doctors and I am still a walking miracle to be able to function and live and travel some and work nearly a full schedule (or more than most people).   So, I get to see my family and grandchildren and value every breath and every new sunrise!  Vacations with Davidene and our family are still a HIGH priority and I have slowed down quite a bit.  So, God is good.

Davidene and I are working on our My Heart to Yours series of books containing letters from the last 30 years that I have written to our children, co-workers, and workplace leaders.  We hope to complete the editing and compilation over the next 18 to 24 months.  My ministry focus is still on workplace leaders, pastors relating to those leaders, grads going into the workplace, and my monthly letter to widows.  I do this through speaking, writing, and mentoring.  I am participating in  a couple of formal mentoring programs and now am able to meet again 2 or 3 times a week with young leaders for lunch.  I represent FCCI / Christ@Work as their Ambassador but have a super relationship with the leaders of most of the key workplace ministries and have helped a couple of groups bring these leaders together in a Kingdom way.  When you have NO personal agenda, then relationships are very easy to create and sustain.  I have been fortunate to make a lot of friends around the world in the workplace movement.  So, I no longer have to travel to reap the benefits of those relationships and connect friends every day by phone and email and Skype.

Thanks for your continued prayers!

2.   CHINA

If you want to go to the China conference or be a part of the 300 business leaders and civic leaders that we are hoping to interest in going to China once a year or every few years to mentor business leaders there, then email Kristen@fcci.org.

3. Widows

I will ask you again to send us the names of one to five widows that you know.  If you do this then God will be smiling because widows are on the TOP of His List.  Thanks for helping to encourage them. Some of our widows read our monthly letter every day until they get the next one. Biblical encouragement is important to them.

4. Speaking

I would appreciate your prayers as I speak in OKC on March 22 and 23rd.  and then in New York (will be a tough long trip) and in Oklahoma and Mo.  Traveling is a little difficult so I have limited my flying and out of state trips.  We are doing a lot right here in OKC for the first time in years.  It is fun to minister in our home city.  And I am having a lot of lunches with young leaders and other key leaders here in our city. God is so good to allow me to do these things in spite of my health.  He has given me great capacity to serve Him. See dates and some specifics below on the side of the widow email.

Thanks again for your prayers, encouragement, and your friendship!!!

Your brother and fellow Kingdom servant in His Army,

Kent

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

Leave a Reply

