Just a Little Talk

(Originally written January 1999)

My eldest grandson abruptly hung up the phone.  He turns three this week and is very articulate, but when he is finished talking, then the conversation is over.  He is so enjoyable to talk to that it leaves you wishing for more.  Children are so honest and full of creativity and energy most of the time.  They are so much fun to be with when they are well rested and in a good mood.  As much as they know they are loved, and they learn early to take advantage of that situation, they still don’t understand what joy those simple child like conversations bring to their parents, grandparents, and other older friends and relatives.

Davidene and I have talked about these abrupt endings many times.  It’s so cute, that when they run out of things to say, they are ready to rush on to the next fun thing.  But as I hung up the phone this time, I wondered what it was like when I talked to my parents and my children from their viewpoint.  I had just had a good conversation with my parents a few days before as they were enjoying their normal winter vacation in Puerto Rico.  Do I call my parents often enough and am interested in all the details of their lives?  As we visit face to face or over the phone, do I listen attentively or am I waiting to get to the next conversation or the next phone call?  What about the times with my children?  Am I always excited about their call or their visit?  When Davidene or one of my children calls me during a busy time, do I consider them an interruption or a pleasant surprise?  Do I try to dominate the time with my plans and my activities or am I interested in their schedule?  More than that, am I interested in their goals, desires, and dreams?

This morning, after some exercise and before a quick breakfast, I stopped by my study.  Next to my chair were a couple of devotional books and my Bible.  As I sat down to read the scriptures and get on with my busy day, I stopped suddenly.  Wow!  Was I getting ready to rush through a few pages, say a quick prayer, and rush out?  Was I essentially saying to my Heavenly Father, “Dad, I’m really in a hurry, but I can give you a few minutes.”  As a CEO, I try to treat my employees with a little more grace than that.  Does God get as much joy out of me when I’m honest and talking excitedly, as I get out of my grandchildren?  And how does He feel, when I just run in and say hello, then quickly move on?

If you are identifying with me, you are probably doing some real soul searching about now.  Could we slow down and enjoy that visit with our parent, child, or best friend?  Do we have to become grandparents before we begin to understand even how to appreciate those we treasure the most?  And how are our visits with God?  Are they limited to a book, a TV program, or attending a place of worship very irregularly?  Or do we have an intimate daily moment by moment conversation and relationship with the creator of the universe?  Does He have a spot on our “things to do list” or a place in our heart?

Well, I am too convicted to write any more.  I’ve got some visits and phone calls to make.  And I need to get that chair in my study a little warmer during these cool mornings.  How about you?

Listening attentively,
Kent Humphreys

While it was still night, way before dawn, he got up and went out to a secluded spot and prayed.”   Mark 1:35 (Message)

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

One Response to Just a Little Talk

  1. Barb (and JD) says:

    Thanks so much Kent for speaking directly into my heart! Wow, that really caused me to sit back and take a breath. You are so right on all counts. Bless you for sharing your heart. I needed that today. It has been very busy so my relationships are struggling from my lack of involvement. Thank God , He is a forgiving God and blesses us with a new morning and new outlooks.

    Blessings and love to you both.
    Keeping you in our prayers.
    Barb

Leave a Reply

