dec 1st – update

Dear Friends,

As unlikely as it seems, Kent and I will leave our house in a few minutes to fly to our favorite get-a-way spot – St. Thomas. Kent planned this vacation for us at this time last year, and never cancelled it. He always had faith that we would go. I had to laugh at myself and my small faith as I looked at the stuff I had packed yesterday. Along with a standard sized nebulizer, a travel nebulizer (for use in the airports as we go), a CPAP machine, a vest air system, a blood pressure cuff, a de-humidifier, and various medicines, we had a few clothes. Our new “normal” is so odd, but we are SOOO grateful for the new “normal”.

We enjoyed our new normal at our lakehouse over the Thanksgiving weekend with our children and grandchildren. We had beautiful weather, great times of conversation and laughter, and our favorite football team won a very exciting game. We were ALL whooping and hollering them to victory, the kids and grandkids jumping all over, giving high fives; and there, right up among them, was Kent, having the time of his life. WOW, what a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Thank you for praying us to this point. You are tremendous friends, faithful and true, and we love you. I’ll write again after we return and give you a fabulous report.

Love, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

5 Responses to dec 1st – update

  1. Dr. Appianda Arthur says:

    I used to serve as VP for ISI in Colorado Springs with Gordon Loux. This was in the early 90’s. At the trime we had one Kent Humphrey serving as a Board member. I have been wondering whether he is the same person. Although I have not been so sure of myself I have nonetheless been following the reports on this Humphrey’s health and have been praying for him. I now live in NJ.

    Let me hear back. Thank you and wish you safe and enjoyable vacation.

    Appianda

  2. harry layden says:

    Praying for you guys…faith is the leaning a of all you are in absolute trust and confidence in God’s goodness, and faithfulness..enjoy the trip

  3. Maydelle Oslund says:

    Praise God for your special Thanksgiving with family. I was in VA with my daughter, Joan and Nate and family, Nate was promoted to Col. at the Pentagon in the Army on Wed. and was honored highly. Another praise during this Thanksgiving. My son Daws retired as a Col. in the Air Force in Sept. because his daughter, Julia has autism is 13 a 7th grader in a main stream school and knew they needed to remain in her school because change is very hard for her. We praise God for how well she is doing and progressing!!!!

    Praying you both will have a wonderful relaxing time in St. Thomas with no problems arising!!

    I have much to be thankful for . . . God is so good . . . though I miss Harv so much! I have wonderful memories and a wonderful family and friends. Thanks so much for your “Encouragement for your Journey Alone”! Phil. 4:6,7

    I His love and faithfulness,
    Maydelle Oslund

  4. Cathy Westm says:

    Well… it’s about time you two young whipper snappers adventured out for some well deserved R&R coupled with love & fun!!! Kudos to Kent for planning ahead… please book your 2011 December adventure this month!

Leave a Reply

