Kent’s Year End Health Update

I just wanted to thank you for your prayers over the last few months. I appreciate your many emails, calls, notes, and visits.   I will not be asking for prayer for overseas trips anytime in the near future. So, unless I have another health crisis, we will use only the web site and will not bother you with emails.  I wanted to let you know exactly how I am doing physically.  Some have thought that I am still close to death and others have believed that I am healed and back to normal.  Actually, I am somewhere in-between.

From January to March I traveled and ministered as I have been doing for several years.  During this time my RP disease was in full force even with heavy doses of steroids.  From April to September we dealt with the damage to the lungs which had been going on for a year or so undetected.  This included putting stents in the lungs in May and taking them out in September. I was at Johns Hopkins twice and in our local hospital four times, including twice in ICU.  Beginning in October I have tried to resume a more “normal” schedule of my new lifestyle which includes the office two days a week, writing and editing at home, speaking close to home, and some lunches. By God’s grace I am still alive and able to sit, walk, talk, drive, and function, but I cannot do physical things like climbing a lot of stairs or carrying boxes. I have 3 or 4 breathing treatments a day, 40 minutes on the vest “thumper”, and numerous medicines.  I have reduced my daily steroids by 80% and added a cancer drug to fight the inflammation.  However, the disease is starting to flare up again.  Just the last few days both my ears are red, swollen, and inflamed, so I have had to increase my steroids temporarily.  The damage done to my ears and nose over the last 16 years is not critical, but the damage done in destroying the cartilage in the lungs cannot be reversed without a miracle.  I get blood tests for inflammation in my body every 2 to 4 weeks.  Even if I can now breathe and live, we must keep the disease from attacking the cartilage in other parts of my body like the heart.

My Capacity (versus one year ago) for ___ is about:
(my family calls these “Wads’ Stats”)

Breathing                                    20%                      Writing, Mentoring          80%

Physical work                           30%                      Relationships                     90%

Travel, hard schedule           50%                      Hopes, Dreams                  100%

Speaking, Business                  70%                     Listening to God               110%

So, I am a walking miracle by God’s grace.  I spoke at our FCCI conference in September about “Understanding God’s Ways”. Then, I spoke at our home church last month on “Are You Ready?”  Together I presented Ten Lessons Learned during this time.  The power points, handouts, bulletin insert, and an audio are on our web site at www.lifestyleimpact.com.  Davidene and I are working over the next year or two on ten books of letters from the last thirty years of ministering to friends, co-workers, CEOs, widows, and raising our family in the My Heart to Yours series. The first book of Christmas Letters will be sent out in early December.  We will be attempting to take some vacation time in December and taking one of our grandchildren on her Twelve Year Old trip.  Then, in January we hope to renew contact with many of you through face to face visits, phone calls, and email.  God has taught me to value every breath and every new day!  I rejoice in His protection and in your friendship!

Your Brother,

Kent

https://kenthumphreys.wordpress.com/business-leaders/presentations/

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

4 Responses to Kent’s Year End Health Update

  1. Teresa Scott says:

    Hello Kent,
    You and Davidene have a special place in my heart for ministering to me in my time of need. My prayers are with you and your family at this time.
    Teresa Scott

  2. Laura Manahan says:

    Thank you Kent for your ministry, your influence and most of all willingness to serve our Lord. Not a day goes by when I mention you in prayer, that I don’t thank God for the impact you have had in my life. Your example is one I treasure and with God’s help will hopefully be able to pass on to those I come in contact through my life.
    I will continue to pray for you daily and know our Father has you and Davidene in His hands and will carry you through each day one step at a time.
    Thank you – you’re life has, and will continue to make a difference in so many lives.

  3. Debbie Little says:

    You guys are amazing and have meant so much to me and my family. I admire your courage and strength to continue through it all. Staying on Gods’ Mission to share and help others learn about Christ and grow in his word. You have lead again and again by example, using your lives as an open book. It gives me encouragement to push on and do for Christ the things he commanded me to do. Thank you Kent and Davidene, I love you both as a dear brother and sister in Christ. Hope to see you soon.

  4. Cathy Westm says:

    Glory to those who press on so faithfully! God living in both of you is so amazing!

Leave a Reply

