august 9th – update

Greetings from Lake Eufaula! Kent has been trying to stay here all summer. Our goal now is to be here for more than a week! We arrived last Friday evening, and have been enjoying the quiet, the squirrels, our first trip back to church (delightful), and seeing a few friends. Kent has seen 2 Nascar races and 1 football game already, and I have been experimenting with a new sewing machine. Kent sounds “gravelly”, so we are going to add a de-humidifier to the rooms he works in. We also received the Vest System last Friday, but the vest was the wrong size. Hopefully, we will receive a new one tomorrow and he can start those treatments. We have high hopes for help using the Vest, and can’t wait to start.

Tomorrow Kent will travel back to OKC for a day to do a Web Seminar. It is a good way to still be able to speak to a group when he can’t travel. I am taking the day to begin teaching one of our granddaughters how to sew. I hope she likes it (it is not her mother’s favorite thing). If she doesn’t, it is still a great time with her. No time is lost.

We still have not heard what the drs have decided after their conference. This week should contain some news. In the meantime, the lake is calling. It must be time for a swim (at least for me and the dogs)! Have a wonderful day, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

2 Responses to august 9th – update

  1. susan fowler says:

    Davidene
    thanks for the update. I have been praying for Kent and you. I completed my final radiation treatment today. Now to gain my energy to be ready to teach in a few weeks. Plus the skin on my neck has begun to blister. Hmm, wonder if I could teach through webcam – how do you think my first graders would handle that? I am so thankful you have been able to enjoy the lake. I have so missed swimming this summer. As soon as I am cleared by the doctor, I plan for Gary and I to go away for a weekend. Swimming will be a highlight for me!!

    I will continue to pray for wisdom for the doctors as they seek the best plan for Kent’s healing.

    In God’s love,
    Susan

  2. Cathy Westm says:

    I promise to continue to pray with you for the doctors as they seek the best plan for Kent’s healing.

Leave a Reply

