july 30th – update

It is 6:00 p.m. here, and it has been a day. Kent is still in the hospital, and will be  until at least Monday. His dr is planning to do a bronchoscopy (with pictures) Mon a.m. He will then send the film to Johns Hopkins, to the pulmanologist there. Hopefully, they can come up with a workable plan to reverse this in and out of the hospital cycle. Then we will go to Baltimore to see both of the drs there. This is a complicated and dreadful disease.

Kent is actually in good spirits. I accuse him of “holding court” with anyone who will listen. Nurses, aides, and transport people are all fair game for his wit and wisdom. He had his secretary bring him work from the office today, and he was awake all day.

I was in much worse shape. I was exhausted and frustrated. We did not close on the house, although it was a possibility all day that it would happen. By the time it was called off, I was in tears and depressed. (It is now scheduled for Monday at 3:00 p.m.) I wish I could take everything in stride like Kent does! When I walked into his room, trying to hide my tears, he asked what was wrong. I replied that my biggest problem today was being a woman. Crying is not a solution, but it sure does seem like one at the time. Anyway, in his great wisdom, he sent me home for a nap. I am now more rested, and everything looks better. The neighbor even called and asked me over for roast, potatoes, and strawberry shortcake. How is that for the day getting better? Now when I go to visit him, I might even be good company. Thanks for getting us through this day with your prayers, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

10 Responses to july 30th – update

  1. harry layden says:

    praying for you both the God will meet every need..harry

  2. Misty says:

    We are praying.

    Love you all,

    Trevor & Misty

  3. susan fowler says:

    Praying for you both. Davidene let the tears flow. The past few days have brought many tears my way as the radiation has made me sick and unable to eat. I have cried out to God for His help in this part of the battle. It is okay to cry. Kent was so wise to send you home. It is so important for him to still be your spiritual leader. He was today when he sent you home to rest. That is God’s plan for husband and wife. We are the emotional creatures that God designed us to be. Out husbands are designed to protect and love I am learning to lean on Gary, instead of being so independent. Trusting that God will give you the answers you are needing.

  4. Joy Fischer says:

    Woms-
    Hang in there! You’re doing awesome. Most of us would have cried much more often, and there’s nothing wrong with a good cry. But I’m glad you were able to get a nap. Isn’t it amazing how much better things look when we’re not exhausted? Praying they can figure out an adjustment to the game plan to keep him out of the hospital longer. Excited the house is selling!
    Love,
    Joy

  5. Maydelle Oslund says:

    Davidene, I appreciate your emails so much and being so transparent!! You have a few things going on in your life and Kent’s and those tears are good and rest is also. I’ve been praying for both of you some verses that mean so much to me: Zeph. 3:17, Rom. 15:13, Ps. 3:3, and II Sam. 22:33, which was a special verse of Harv’s and mine also. I have appreciated so much Kent your writing snd sending me “Encouragement . . . for your Journey Alone”. Each one has been very significant in my life! Praying also for special wisdom from our Lord for the Drs. in treating your symptoms and condition!
    In His love and faithfulness,
    Maydelle

  6. Kevin & Debbie Hanni says:

    I am praying for you guys. Every good woman deserves a cry when life gets tough. Even though we trust and rely in the Lord tears can be a real release at times! You guys are loved and in my prayers every day. We don’t know how the Lord is going to answer the prayers but we do know He is listening and has a plan. Love,
    Debbie

  7. Ed & Donna Mira says:

    Hi Davidene & Kent
    Donna and I marvel at the patience and love you show for each other, it is truly God blessed. We know that these are trying times but we also know that the Lord has and will continue to bless you and your family.
    Please know that Donna and I are here to do whatever we can to help ease your stress. We will continue to pray for you and Kent.
    God Bless Both of You
    Ed & Donna

  8. Cindy Puckett says:

    We are praying for you both. I think crying is helpful in so many ways, even though men don’t always understand. We are sorry you are having to go through all this. Praying for wisdom and healing. Hang in there and keep looking up!

    Chad and Cindy Puckett

  9. Cathy Westm says:

    Davidene & Kent,

    Isaiah 40:31 You two know how to do this very well… Praise Jesus! Lifting you up in prayers. Hugs.

  10. Cathy Westm says:

    How’s Kent feeling today? To him who overcomes… REV 2:7

Leave a Reply

