July 11 – update

I guess you figured out that yesterday’s blog was NOT penned on July 17th, as I wrote. (June 17th was the date we were to have left for Lost Valley originally. I guess that date was just in my head as our departure date. ) I must tell you how much God comforter my heart thru you friends. Your blogs and e-mails to me were like rain in a desert, and I think I am blooming again. I slept eleven hours last night (do you think I was tired?) I am planning to get a lot of sleep tonight, too, and I think I will feel like a new person. THANKS for all your advice and prayers.

Kent improved both yesterday and today. He has had two kinds of antibiotics delivered thru IV, and respiratory therapy every few hours. They are really throwing the “big guns” at him! He is. however, still gravelly sounding, and the dr. will not commit himself as to what tomorrow holds. We just have to wait and see. We are cautiously hoping.

Our spirits are good. I will blog again as soon as I can, after we talk to the dr in the morning. Love, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

5 Responses to July 11 – update

  1. Buck Jacobs says:

    Bonnie and I have been and will continue to stand with you both. Praying that you will get to Lost Valley safe and strong.

    Buck Jacobs

  2. Barb And JD says:

    Our dear Davidene and Kent;

    You are all so much in our prayers as we laid hold of the throne for you. Our Mark called from the east coast of Canada as the family are RVing along the coast. Each night they have a fire pit and they all pray…the kids are 5, 11 year old twins and our Rebecca 13….they pray always for Mr. Kent and his doctors and that he won’t be afraid of anything and trust in God for everything. That gives me chills as a grandma. Mark phoned to find out how Mr. Kent was doing in the hospital and he will report in the morning to the kids at breakfast. God is using you both to teach our kiddies the value of a prayer of faith, and they want reports of how God is answering. The faith of a child is so precious. Just thought I’d share that and trust it encourages you as to how far and wide the family of God is , who love you and are holding you both up in prayer. Blessings on you both.Trust that Monday will be another step towards getting well enough to travel and meet the fam. Thank God it happened before you left. Isn’t He amazing!!!!

    Love Barb and JD

  3. Laura Manahan says:

    Davidene and Kent,

    Upon reading both of your blogs this morning from work, my heart broke for you both. I know how much you longed for this special trip with your family and can’t begin to know the heartache you must both have felt.

    My scripture reading this morning was Hebrews 4:15&16 and it’s reminder that we do not have a high priest who is distant and doesn’t know what we are feeling or needing. He sympathizes and mourns even as we mourn and is there to comfort us. It reminds us to approach His throne with confidence, whether it before a temptation or for a pleading of healing, as you are now. He is with you!!

    Prayers are continual and will pray you will be able to somehow join your family for at least a part of your vacation.

  4. Barbara Buchholtz says:

    I continue to hold Kent, you and the entire family up in prayer. We are living proof that prayer works and I am sure God is being inundated each and everyday for all of you. God bless

  5. Davidene,

    You guys have so been on my heart. I am praying for you several times a day.

    I started a Widows ministry at 1st Bapt Piedmont because of you and Kent. Your work of serving widows through your church has been such an inspiration.

    Let me tell you about a tool I’ve used when feeling a bit overwhelmed.
    It is a pillow speaker. It is a round flat speaker that plugs into a digital recorder. I got the speaker at Radio Shack for about $8, I plug it into my recorder.

    My digital recorder has 5 files.
    A, I use for creative ideas for my interviews.
    B, I used for the study in Romans at my Sunday School class.
    C, is for anything inspirational, including my readings from scripture, My Utmost For His Highest, radio preachers, songs from hymnals,etc.
    D, is for anything that makes me laugh, like my grandchildren and
    E, is for His Story, or my history, my God stories.

    I can turn it on at night and not disturb Carl and it feeds my soul!

    I am able to download the files to my computer and share with those who are going through tough trials.

    shirley

Leave a Reply

