July 17th – update

It is Saturday, and, according to our hoped-for plans, we should be traveling with our children and grandchildren right now on our vacation to Colorado. In reality, Kent was admitted back into the hospital last night. He had not slept well Thursday night, and went quickly downhill during the day on Friday. At this time, it appears that he has multiple types of infection in his lungs, and is on IV antibiotics. Whether or not the mucus has become thick enough that he needs a bronchoscopy is not yet determined. Please pray. We have not given up on sharing part of our vacation with our kids. If Kent can get on the right antibiotics, and maybe get a bronchoscopy, maybe we can still go for a few days. Lots of maybe’s.

As we drove to the hospital last night, Kent and I shared grief and disappointment. As he was treated for the the 6 hours in the ER, we reminded ourselves through tears that God knew this, and He is still in control. He is still good, and that is true even when our emotions are not cooperating with our knowledge. By this morning, Kent is resting calmly in his trust of God, and still is hoping strongly that we get to have even a partial experience with our kids this week. I am believing, but I am very, very sad. I am a wife, mom, and grandma, who had such high hopes and dreams for a memory-making week, and I can’t quit crying. I think I am  shocked about how last-second this was, with our cars packed, and our family asleep upstairs ready to drive off early in the morning. I am also exhausted.

We sent them off with everyone feeling conflicted and torn, but with the hope of joining each other in a few days. We are grateful that it happened now, and not in the mountains. If we can get there, Kent will be in much better shape to enjoy everyone. There is always something to be thankful for.

We’ll meet you at the throne,

Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

14 Responses to July 17th – update

  1. Laurie Goree says:

    :*( So sad with you. Praying with you that you’ll still be able to join the rest of the family later this week.

  2. Kent and Davidene,

    You are in my prayers as you stay focused on God’s goodness.
    shirley

  3. Kari Moroz says:

    Trusting God in his perfect peace and healing for Kent. I know that you are disappointed, I can only imagine, but God is SO good…I want to encourage you both to just rest in His perfection and grace today. Praying for you both and your sweet family!

  4. susan fowler says:

    Ah precious friends, I am so sorry for your disappointment. But I am so thankful that you were still here when Kent had difficulty. Thankful you could get to Mercy quickly, thankful they knew what they were working with.
    I do understand the disappointments. I have missed having my grandkids for so much of the summer, as we had planned. I even had to sell our passes for White Water and Frontier City.
    Keep your eyes on the positives. That is what gets us through the tears. God has brought you so far in such a relatively short period of time. He has a plan. He has not been caught off guard. I said this to myself as I opened yet another medical bill. He knows what we are facing and is with us.
    Davidene , you are walking the path Gary walks. The one who loves, supports, encourages and carries us. Kent and I walk the unknowns, the role of the dependent ones. For Kent, I know that is not easy. Nor is it for me. Gary simply took my breakfast plate and cup for me and I told him I could do it myself! I often forget how hard it is for him to see me hurting.
    So I leave you my friend with a laugh for the day – last night I brought home three “new to me wigs” – One platinum blonde, one very long and one that might work. Gary and I had a great laugh as I tried them on for me.
    Maybe Kent needs a few wigs!
    Praying for you dear and precious friends.

  5. Joy Fischer says:

    I’m so sorry. What a disappointment! I, too, am happy Kent’s health worsened here rather than in the mountains. Praying for quick healing.

    Love,
    Joy

  6. Don Dancy says:

    So very very devastated but always hopeful and praying. Your friend.

  7. Maydelle Oslund says:

    Dear Kent and Davidene,

    I am so saddened with you that you are not doing well Kent and that your plans have changed for at least a couple of days. I will be in prayer for both of you . . . praying Eph. 3:20 and Isa. 41:10.

    Trusting God with you,
    Maydelle

  8. Debbie Sanders says:

    We are sad for you also. We are thankful that it happened here instead of there. We will keep praying that you both get to join the family.

    Love and prayers,

    Rod and Debbie

  9. Kim Keller Shelton says:

    Dear Davidene and Kent
    Feeling the pain and disappointment with you. I am praying that Kent will get stronger and that the meds and bronchoscopy will work quickly. Praying for both of you to get rest and refreshment both physically and emotionally.
    Love, Kim

  10. Debra Duncan says:

    We will keep your entire family in our prayers! I know how disappointed you must be. Keep looking up and trust in HIM! He knows all things and has all under control.

    Debra & Scott

  11. Kory Warr says:

    Praying for you guys. I am so sorry.

    Love,

    Kory

  12. Evie Fishkin says:

    Dear Jesus, we all pray for your grace and mercy for Davidene and Kent. We ask that you wrap your arms around Davidene. Be her strength, hope and arms…especially right now. In the dark, uncertainty, be her light. Touch Kent and Davidene in a special way…turn this trial into good. Make even the hospital stay a witness of your glory.

    In the middle of it all, give Davidene rest. Give Kent health to make this trip…this memory is important to the family. You are the God of all flesh…nothing is too difficult for you…and as well said by Paul, all your promises are yes. You are our Saviour yesterday, today, and tomorrow.

    In the Name of Jesus, we ask…

  13. Barbara Buchholtz says:

    Lifting your entire family up in prayer. Pray, praise and give thanks…….even through our tears….

  14. April Novak says:

    I am so sad right now, and am agreeing with Evie’s prayer above. Love you.

Leave a Reply

