june 30th – update

Today is my turn to blog. Yesterday was Kent’s birthday, and so many of you made it special for him. THANK YOU. He felt good all day, took himself to his office for 5 hours!, and ended the day with (sugar free) homemade coconut creme pie and a card game with friends. It was a huge and terrific day. I thought that today might be really weary because of yesterday’s activities, but so far, it has been good. I stand in amazement at God’s grace and Kent’s determination.

I must share a funny story on Kent. Our nephew, Rod, phoned today about another matter, but told me in passing that he had been talking to our secretary, who related that our son, Lance, had been in the office earlier in the week. He had seen Kent at his desk, and it worried him a bit. So he entered his Dad’s office and said something like, “Dad! You need to slow down some. You can’t just charge back into life this fast!” Rod and I laughed as Rod commented, “Can you imagine Kent not ‘charging’?” I replied, “No, I can’t. He always charges! He IS charging!” And he is. With great thankfulness to God, I am enjoying the charge.

 Kent tells me that it is his turn to blog tomorrow, so I may not get to say “Hi” to you again until after the July 4th weekend. Have a wonderful holiday with your family.

In Him, Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

3 Responses to june 30th – update

  1. Jim White says:

    What great news to see consistency in the restoration of Kent’s health. God is so gooooooood!
    I agree with Kent that the Lord certainly had opportunities to take him but He certainly had other plans for him. Happy Birthday Kent and Best Wishes for Many, Many, Many More!

    Be Blessed!

    Jim

  2. Linda Sageser says:

    Kent, I’m so sorry I forgot to mail you a birthday card. I was going home Sunday and choosing one, but I forgot. Then Monday I got sewing on a bridesmaid dress project. Tuesday, I learned Tara was quickly scheduled for a little outpatient surgery today, so it’s been a little rushed. But all is fine. So glad to hear that you had a great day. Aren’t birthdays grand when you feel good and have so much to be grateful for and to look forward to?

    Blessings to you,
    Linda and Sherrill

  3. Cindy Puckett says:

    Kent and Davidene,

    We praise the Lord for the work that He is doing in Kent’s body and through you both as you continue to be a light and bring God glory through this difficult season. Thank you for the effort to blog so that we may know how to pray and praise the Lord. We will continue to pray for strength for you both and continued progress. We will also pray for wisdom as you seek the Lord on how to best spend your days. Praying for a rich time with your family at the lake and Valley.

    Waaaa Hooooo!!!!

    Cindy and Chad Puckett

Leave a comment