june 20 – update

What a glorious Father’s Day! Kent did good today – even took his first outing since returning from Johns Hopkins. We joined a few friends at a nearby restaurant for lunch, and it was such fun. It felt so “normal”. Kent did really well with it, and the rest of the day has been peaceful (if you call watching Nascar, golf, and the College World Series peaceful). I just don’t get it; how can guys flip around three channels on TV and keep everything straight, much less call it fun?  We finished off our day with a beautiful sunset over our little lake, and set spellbound as the water and sky turned from yellow, to orange, to bright pink, and all combinations thereof.

The meds are still working, and we will try tomorrow to submit our case to our insurance company and see what happens. I’m also going to look for some kind of equipment that will help with the back compressions that I give him often during the day. Much like a Cystic Fibrosis patient, it helps to pound on his back to break up the secretions in the lungs. I’m hoping to find a chair or an insert for his recliner that can do more than vibrate and massage – something that can pound. We’ll see. Anyway, HE thinks that most important thing for tomorrow is a haircut – sounds like he is getting back to normal to me. It is so encouraging. As with any recovery, there are good days, and not so good days. This has been a very good day. I pray your Father’s Day has been good as well. THANK YOU for your prayers for us. We both appreciate you and depend on your prayers so much. Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

4 Responses to june 20 – update

  1. John Wilson says:

    Kent watching NASCAR, I wouldn’t have guest it, but great. That’s a real mans sport. Who is his favorite driver? Mine is Jimmy Johnson, number 48 and also Jeff Gordon. It’s great to hear the good news on Kent’s recovery. We are praying for the medication and treatment. May the Lord Jesus be glorified through all this.

    Walking in Victory,

    John and Nell

  2. Barb And JD says:

    Thanks Davidene. You encourage us. Have another great day with the new Kent (haircut) and may you find favour with the insurance company. May God put just the right person on the other end of the telephone.

    Blessings and love with our continued prayers.

    JD and Barb

  3. Eric and Kathryn says:

    Eric and I are grateful to have the opportunity to be a part of the vast army of intercessors on behalf of Kent and you, Davidene. I’ve been praying in the name of Jesus that all the cells, tissue and sinews that contribute to life will thrive and anything else that does not will wither and die. We are praying that Kent prosper and be in health as his soul prospers. Your update for Father’s Day is so encouraging. It is such a good report! We pray for continued strength…that strength be added to strength and that his lungs will be as pink and healthy as the day he was born and that God receive all the honor and glory…Amen!!!
    Continued prayers and praise…the Burlings

  4. Cathy Westm says:

    Well said Eric & Kathryn! Agreed!

    Dear Davidene,
    You may have already read online information… but, I read some blogs from folks with various lung congestions issues. Some responders to them said the following: A doctor approved a home model nebulizer (the machine that pumps the meds) and prescribe muco-mist (a prescription solution that is injected into the machine). It helped to open up my chest and made coughs more productive. I had to use a pillow under my rib cage to minimize pain when coughing. Now 3 months post-op, I am using Mucinex Expectorant, drinking lots of water and taking hot showers to help break up the conjestion.

    Another says: had to have my side all wrapped up but hot showers worked for me too, I feel for you I also slept in a recliner for about 3 months. I never thought that I would be able to sleep in the same bed as my wife ever again (yes I whined). It’s painful but that junk needs to come out, I know a lot of people have said that they were just fine after having their lung removed, but I was not one of those.

    Another: Had my left lung removed and the cough was killing me. My doc recommended Claritin over the counter. Was a life saver. Check with your Doc tho but never coughed again.

    If I lived there… I’d volunteer to be one of his back beaters. I know how much this helps one breath. Bless his precious heart! Please let me know if we’re able help with the purchase of a machine… if one even exists & I hope it does for home use.

    Would something like the Brookstone.com – i-need Neck & Shoulder Massager
    Deep relief for hard-to-reach neck, shoulder and back muscles help with breaking up congestion?

    I’m certain there are many friends & family who are deeply praying God’s will for Kent. What joy is is to read your deep and loving updates of your precious sweetheart’s recovery. What amazing faith in Christ believers are I’m certain, are supporting and lifting you & Kent. Jer. 32:17 says: “Lord God! Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and by Your outstretched arm! Nothing is too difficult for You”

    – Oh the constant miracle of God’s protection!

    PS: Kent, with your great head of Humphreys family’s hair… please just pass on the cut & consider growing a pony tail! You can join a Christian band and sing of His love forever! Which I’m certain you already do!

Leave a Reply

