june 14th – update

It has been a long rainy day in Oklahoma City, but when I arrived home from the hospital tonight, the sun peeked out long enough for me to take the dogs on a walk around our little lake. It was a needed refreshment.

Kent is doing better after lots of respiratory treatments and Lasix by IV. But I must admit that the daily visit with the dr. was sobering. He admitted that he is challenged by this complication and doesn’t really know what to do. His plan of action was to talk to Johns Hopkins pulmanologists to see if they have had any patients experience this severe  secretion production. If so, what did they do about it? Do they have any suggestions? After this consult, our Dr. here may be able to formulate a plan. He is also looking into using a drug that is usually reserved for aadvanced lung cancer patients. It is VERY expensive to produce and even more expensive to buy, so the hospital does not keep much of it. What they do have is ear-marked for lung cancer. Therefore, they will not release it for our use, and even if they did release it, they don’t have nearly enough. So our dr. will ask Johns Hopkins if they can use their clout to obtain it for us. The truth is that even if they can, the docs would have to agree that it has a chance of being beneficial in Kent’s case before they would pursue it. It, too, has huge side effects with its potential huge benefit. The doctors certainely need divine wisdom.

Kent will probably return home tomorrow after a plan has been decided upon. I can’t wait to get him back home! Even if he can’t do much, there is something so peaceful and comfortable about being together at home. Please pray for wisdom for the docs, patience with the process for us, peaceful spirits as we adjust to this limited lifestyle, acceptance if there isn’t much improvement to quality of life, and an ability to focus on the delights that God gives us each day to share.

I received so many encouraging e-mails from you yesterday. THANK YOU!!!  Davidene

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

8 Responses to june 14th – update

  1. susan fowler says:

    Davidene
    Thank you for the update. I will continue to pray. With my cancer I am having the opposite problem. They removed my salivary gland, so I continue to have a very dry mouth. Too bad that we cannot fit our unique situations together. I guess in a way, God has brought us together. One Kent being one of Gary’s former employer plus I understand that Stevana is your niece. She is a special friend at CHA. Her son Luke made me a doctor bear while I was in the hospital. Know that I am on my knees before the Lord for Kent and you. Psalm 139 spoke volumes to me today about how He knit together our bodies. May it bless you today also.
    Susan

  2. Kevin & Debbie Hanni says:

    Davidene,

    We have been out of town over the weekend and just got the news about Kent. We have been and will continue to pray for both of you. Your blog posts have been such a wonderful testimony to God’s power to sustain believers during difficult times. I know God will use these difficult times in your life draw others to Himself. We will continue to pray but if there is anything else we can do please let us know. We love you guys and treasure the example you are to us.

    Love,
    Debbie & Kevin

  3. Susan Dage says:

    Dear Davidene and Kent,
    Praying for you, and praying for your doctors for wisdom and discretion in finding a solution to heal
    Kent. Your courage, faith and trust in our Lord is
    a witness for us all. May blessings shower upon
    you both!

  4. I pray for God’s peace for you all. I picture the words “Faith” and the word “Fear”. When I don’t know how to pray and my mind continues to see fearful thoughts I choose to keep my eyes on “Faith” and pray that I trust God when I don’t know what to do next.

  5. Kim Keller Shelton says:

    I agree with all the above prayers. I am praying 2 Chronicles 20:12 “we don’t know what to do but our eyes are upon You.”
    Love, Kim

  6. Laura Manahan says:

    Sweet Davidene and Kent –

    My prayers and thoughts have been with you almost non-stop lately. Not only prayers of healing for Kent, and peace for both of you, but thanksgiving for the lives you both lead each day. You are definitely both a shining example of being God’s hands and feet.
    God is using you in more ways than you know even through this difficult, heart wrenching time. He is giving us all a glimpse of just how much you love our Savior and lean on Him for every little detail of your lives.
    Thank you for being a shining example of ones whose hearts are truly seeking God in all things good and bad.

    Prayers continuing
    Laura

  7. Dan & Comfort Ndangason says:

    Dear Davidene & Kent,

    Thank you for the update, we had not checked the blog for sometime. This is quite difficult but we thank God for your attitude, we join you in praying for the ability to delight in God and all we believe He will do for your good.

    Much love from the Wednesday & Thursday morning support group. The books you sent have arrived.

    We keep praying.

    Dan & Comfort.

  8. Brian Thatcher says:

    Thanks so much for your up-date. Give my best to Kent. Tell him I appreciate him so much for His walk and life message and the kindness he showed me in the past.

Leave a Reply

