Kenya

After clearing all the hurdles of the Lagos airport I was off to Kenya.  I got two hours sleep on the plane and arrived at 6am in Nairobi, Kenya. Simon, my friend whom I had met at Amsterdam 2000 was there to meet me.  Because the agent had me to arrive one day late here then I had no grace or rest period.

So we drove to the hotel – which is out on an Ostrich farm in beautiful country.  I took a quick shower, we had a bite to eat, and we were off to the pastor’s conference.  It was at a beautiful setting with tables outside for the lunch and tea breaks.  A local business leader had paid for it all and the pastors were treated really well.

We went from 10am to 430pm with speaking followed by small groups and questions.  There were 40 to 50 pastors from 19 denominations. This went as well here as it had in Lagos – if that is even possible…and their spirit was great – teachable and so receptive to totally new truth.  Nancy, Kenda’s Compassion daughter, was at the airport and with us. She is beautiful and I am so impressed at her grace, maturity, and sweet spirit.  She wrote a song for me and they sang it at the conference.  Beautiful!!! Great to finally meet her.

We then had follow up meetings and a drive back to the ostrich resort. There we waited for some business and church leaders to meet us and had a late dinner with them.

To bed at 11pm makes for a very long day or two for me but my heart is greatly encouraged.

This resort is beautiful and old and very remote.  I think that I may be the only guest and have 6 to 8 people waiting on me. They were disappointed that I would be in Nairobi the next two nights for dinners and not here.  We had another power blackout from probably 1am until 9am.  The food is good; I love the chilled passion fruit juice and the milo (hot chocolate) and even some of the fruits are good that I would never eat at home.

Sight seeing and joining my friend Sam Owen for one of his dinners on Thursday; then business leaders on Friday; visiting country side on Saturday; attending Simon’s church on Sunday.

Thanks for praying.

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

Leave a Reply

