International Travel

Well, I made it through Israel security checks with no problems.  However, one of our party this afternoon is a USA citizen now, but grew up in Egypt.  He came to the USA in 1994. They were nice, but questioned him for an hour as we were coming in.  Since I am an OLD man with gray hair then I look harmless I guess…

But, it still took me 105 minutes because I got hassled for luggage on Ethiopian Airlines. Had to pay over $100 in excess baggage charges for 2 bags vs. 1 and 2 carry ons…a rip off.  NO other airline allows only 1 carry on and they should have honored the American Airline complete round trip ticket as most airlines honor the starting carrier’s terms.  So that took an extra 40 minutes even when I was first in line after getting here 4 hours early. Oh well the joys of travel.

A NOTE– Israel has the tightest security in the world yet they allow on water bottles through security.  I think our USA rules are a joke and just help sell more water.

Overall I got through the process just great!!

I love the food here in Israel and Palestine.  I had apricots and dates every morning.  The dates were the best that I have ever had anywhere.

Africa will present me a whole new menu of choices although I could go without and do fine.  Although I have been able to reduce my steroids after 3 weeks of overload, I am still on the edge.  When I get home it may be serious diet time again if I can just get the dosage down.

It is near midnight and I need 2 or 3 hours on each flight.  I will lose an hour and will only be 7 hours ahead when I reach Nigeria.  In traveling we keep track of weird things like time zones and currency conversion and important things like two passports, etc.

The trip is about one third done.  See you in two weeks. 10 to 14 days is fine and 17 days pushes it, but 22 days is tough.  I just could not get back in time to leave again.  The first part has exceeded my expectations and I sense ALL the prayers.  So I can not wait to see what is next.  God is so good to allow us to meet his children around the world and have immediate fellowship.  What a deal!!

About kenthumphreys
Kent Humphreys has been a business leader for over forty years. He also served as CEO of FCCI/Christ@Work for six years and now serves as their worldwide ambassador, speaking, writing, and mentoring young leaders. He continues to be active in distribution, private equities, and real estate. Kent and his wife Davidene have written six books together. They have three children and eight grand-children.

One Response to International Travel

  1. Barb Smith says:

    Dear Kent…Thanks for posting this blog and including us in your travels. I love it. My nights are always a struggle for me so I can get up and do something useful with my time…pray. Prayer is so obscure sometimes. I wonder what God thinks when we ask for things like food, rest, a wide seat, friendly security people and favor with our blessed Custom folk. God does care about ALL these things…”cast ALL your cares on me for I care for you” Aren’t we just so blessed!
    As long as you write, I will be praying. It’s so much better than a sleeping pill!
    Boy, 22 days is definitely over my limit of being away so as you take one day at a time, I pray that you will be rested and encouraged to carry on. Try not to think about the length, just take it as it comes and the time will fly! Pun!
    You are doing such a rewarding thing, investing one on one in the lives of business men so that they can one on one change the world. Only Eyernity will show the fruit harvested at the end of our Earthly time. God bless you Kent and JD and I will continue to pray for your heath , safety, and the impact we know you will make in each of the countries and businesses you visit.
    Give our love to Davidene. Trust she is keeping busy and well. Think of you both often and the model of a Godly marriage and life you model for us.
    I tried to find the book you mentioned that you purchaesd for Davidene written by Lynn Hybels but couldn’t find it. Any idea where I could ouder it from? W.C. resourses or Amazon doesn’t have it in their book store according to the web.
    Blessings Kent and look forward to hearing daily or as often as you write of your journey and experiences.
    Fondly Barb (and JD too)

Leave a Reply

